# INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING THE PUC TRANSPORTATION REIMBURSEMENT ACCOUNT (PUCTRA) FEE STATEMENT

### WHO MUST FILE

All Vessel Common Carriers (VCC) subject to the jurisdiction of the California Public Utilities Commission.

## WHO MUST PAY FEES ON GROSS CALIFORNIA INTRASTATE PASSENGER REVENUES

Operators whose annual gross California intrastate passenger revenues are \$100,000 or more shall report their revenue and pay fees due on a quarterly basis. Operators whose annual gross California intrastate passenger revenues are less than \$100,000 shall report their revenue and pay fees due on annual basis.

The reporting period for each fee statement is shown in the upper right-hand corner of the form.

### HOW TO PREPARE A FEE STATEMENT:

- Line 1 Report all intrastate gross revenues from all passenger operations earned in the reporting period. This figure is subject to the fee.
- Line 2 Report all revenue earned from California intrastate subcarrier operations (A subcarrier is engaged by a primary carrier pursuant to a written agreement to provide a vehicle and driver to perform transportation services.)
- Line 3 Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. This figure is subject to the fee.
- Line 4 Multiply Line 3 by .0033.
- Line 5 The \$10.00 quarterly fee must be paid even when not operating or when authority is suspended.
- Line 6 Add Lines 4 and 5. This amount is due and payable on or before the penalty date indicated on Line 7.
- Line 7 A penalty of 25 percent must be added without exception if a Fee Statement is not filed (postmarked) by the penalty date. Multiply Line 6 by 0.25 to determine penalty.
- Line 8 Total amount due: Add Lines 6 and 7.
- Line 9 Enter on this line the amount you paid as a primary carrier to engaged subcarriers on revenue subject to fees. A subcarrier who engages another subcarrier (sub-subcarrier) should also enter on this line the gross amount paid to such sub-subcarriers.

(Continued on reverse)

If the operator submitting the fee statement is an individual, the statement should be signed by the individual. If the operator submitting the fee statement is a partnership, the statement should be signed by one of the partners. If the operator submitting the fee statement is a corporation, the statement should be signed by an authorized corporate officer. If the operator submitting the fee statement is an LLC, the statement should be signed by an authorized managing member.

**HOW TO PAY:** Please pay by check or money order made payable to: CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION (CPUC). (Your VCC Number should be written on your check or money order). Mail your payment with your fee statement to:

# CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION FISCAL OFFICE 505 Van Ness Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3298

A returned dishonored check will be subject to a \$10.00 service charge and will subject you to a 25% late penalty payment. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: Contact Fiscal Office at <a href="mailto:cashiering@cpuc.ca.gov">cashiering@cpuc.ca.gov</a>.