STATE OF CALIFORNIA GAVIN NEWSOM, Governor

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

505 VAN NESS AVENUE SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94102-3298



Frequently Asked Questions for PUC Transportation Reimbursement Account (PUCTRA) Fees

Questions on Payment of PUCTRA fees

Who must file a PUC Transportation Reimbursement Account (PUCTRA) Fee Statement?

All Passenger Stage Corporations (PSC) and Charter-party Carriers of Passengers (TCP) under the jurisdiction of the California Public Utilities Commission.

How does CPUC determine who reports annually or quarterly?

Operators whose annual gross California intrastate passenger revenues are \$100,000 or more shall report their revenue and pay fees on a quarterly basis.

Operators whose annual gross California intrastate passenger revenues are less than \$100,000 shall report their revenue and pay fees on an annual basis.

Why do I have to pay PUCTRA fees?

Pursuant to Public Utilities Code 401-443 and 5374, the Commission shall require every Charter-Party carrier of Passengers with annual gross intrastate revenues of one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) or less to make payment of fee to the commission on an annual basis on or before January 15 and Charter-Party carrier of Passengers with annual gross intrastate revenue of one hundred thousand dollars (\$100,000) or more to make payment of fee to the commission on a quarterly basis.

How do I know when it is time to report my revenue?

The commission will send you a postcard reminder to inform you of the due date and provide you with the link to access the PUCTRA Worksheet Calculator.

Questions on Suspensions and Revocations for Failing to Pay PUCTRA fees

Can my authority be suspended if I fail to submit and pay the required PUCTRA fees?

Yes, the commission may suspend or revoke the certificate of public convenience and necessity, permit, or other operating authority of the person or corporation or order the person or corporation to cease and desist from conducting all operations subject to the jurisdiction of the commission.

Questions on the 0% Rate

If the rate is 0%, do I still need to report my revenues?

Yes. All requirements for reporting subcarrier and prime carrier revenue are still in effect.

If the rate is 0%, does that mean I do not need to pay anything?

No. CPUC still requires carriers to pay the \$10 quarterly or \$25 annual fee.

Can I be suspended or revoked for not reporting my revenue or paying the \$10 quarterly or \$25 annual fee?

Yes. All rules and timelines for penalty, suspension, and revocation remain the same. The only thing that has changed is the percentage User Fee rate charged on revenue.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA GAVIN NEWSOM, Governor

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

505 VAN NESS AVENUE SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94102-3298



Is there still a late fee?

Yes. If the payment is mailed past the penalty date, the 25% penalty is still in effect.

Will the rate be 0% forever?

No. Pursuant to Public Utilities Code 421(a), the CPUC will annually assess the rate and may change it. You will be notified if this happens.

If I am paying for a quarter before January 2019, is the rate still 0%?

No. The 0% rate is only effective January 1, 2019. If you are paying for a quarter or annual fee for 2018 or older, the previous rates will still apply.

Questions on the PUCTRA Worksheet

I received the postcard, does this mean I will not receive a PUCTRA fee statement?

Yes. Please visit the web address on the postcard to fill out the PUCTRA fee statement. A separate form will not be mailed to your address.

I cannot find my Carrier ID, what's wrong?

Remember to enter only the numbers without zeros in the front.

Example: 99991 instead of 0099991 or PSG0099991.

If you still cannot find your Carrier ID, please contact <u>Licensing@cpuc.ca.gov</u> or call our Transportation Carrier Call Center (1-800-877-8867) on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 1:00 – 3:00 PM.

Can I report my revenue using the online PUCTRA worksheet if my authority is expired or revoked?

No. You will need to download and print the statement from our website and handwrite all the information.

What if the contact information is incorrect on the PUCTRA fee statement?

Please contact <u>Licensing@cpuc.ca.gov</u>. If a change of address is needed, please remember to fill out the Change of Address form at <u>www.cpuc.ca.gov/tcpforms</u>, located towards the bottom of the page.

Does the information on the worksheet get sent to CPUC automatically?

No. The form is not sent to CPUC electronically. You must print out, sign, and mail the forms with check payment. Mail PUCTRA statements with payment to:

California Public Utilities Commission Fiscal Office 505 Van Ness Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3298

Does the information on the worksheet get saved in case I have to reprint another copy?

No. The form does not save or remember your information.

Can I pay online?

No. You must print out, sign, and mail the forms with a check payment.

Can I group two reporting periods into one worksheet?

No. A separate worksheet must be completed for each reporting period.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA GAVIN NEWSOM, Governor

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

505 VAN NESS AVENUE SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94102-3298



Can I write one check for two reporting periods?

Yes, but the check must be mailed with two completed worksheets.

I printed out the PUCTRA worksheet before the penalty date, but I am now mailing it after the penalty date. Since I filled it out before the penalty date, there is no penalty on Box #13. Does this mean I do not have to pay penalty?

No. You must add it manually to the worksheet you already printed out or reenter the information on the worksheet and reprint.

I did not sign my fee statement. Will it be accepted?

No. Fee statements must be signed.

When I printed my worksheet two pages printed out, the second with subcarrier information. Is this for my records, or do I mail to CPUC?

The second form is required to be mailed to CPUC. Make a copy for your records

Last Updated: 6/18/2020