#### INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING THE PUC TRANSPORTATION REIMBURSEMENT ACCOUNT (PUCTRA) FEE STATEMENT FOR PERIODS 191 AND ON (Effective January 1, 2019)

## WHO MUST FILE

All Passenger Stage Corporations (PSC) and Charter-party Carriers of Passengers (TCP), subject to the jurisdiction of the California Public Utilities Commission.

## WHO MUST PAY FEES ON GROSS CALIFORNIA INTRASTATE PASSENGER REVENUES

Operators whose annual gross California intrastate passenger revenues are \$100,000 or more shall report their revenue and pay fees on a quarterly basis. Operators whose annual gross California intrastate passenger revenues are less than \$100,000 shall report their revenue and pay fees on an annual basis.

## SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS REGARDING SUBCARRIERS

<u>PRIMARY CARRIERS</u> engaging the services of subcarriers are responsible for the payment of the fees on the gross earnings of the subcarriers. The use of subcarrier services by primary carriers shall be pursuant to a written agreement in accordance with G.O. 157 / 158.

The reporting period for each fee statement is shown in the upper right-hand corner of the form.

#### HOW TO PREPARE A FEE STATEMENT:

- Line 1: Report all intrastate gross revenues from all passenger operations earned in the reporting period, including round-trip sightseeing.
- Line 2 Report all intrastate gross revenues from all passenger operations earned as a subcarrier in the reporting period. (A subcarrier is engaged by a primary carrier pursuant to a written agreement to provide a vehicle and driver to perform transportation services.)
- Line 3: Subtract Line 2 from Line 1. This figure is subject to the fee.
- Line 4: Report revenue from Line 3 that was earned by operating small vehicles (seating **15 or fewer** passengers, not including the driver).
- Line 5: Multiply the amount of Line 4 by 0.000.
- Line 6: Enter the amount shown on Line 3 that was earned by operating large vehicles (seating **16 or more** passengers, not including the driver).
- Line 7: Enter the amount shown on Line 6 that was derived from transportation in vehicles seating 32 or more passengers and meeting the federal definition of "CHARTER TRANSPORTATION". See "FEDERAL DEFINITION OF "CHARTER TRANSPORTATION" on reverse.
- Line 8: Subtract the amount shown on Line 7 from the amount shown on Line 6.
- Line 9: Multiply the amount shown on Line 8 by 0.000.
- Line 10: Add the amount shown on Line 5 to the amount shown on Line 9.
- Line 11: The \$25.00 annual / \$10.00 quarterly fee must be paid, even when not operating or when authority is suspended.
- Line 12: Add the amounts shown on Lines 10 and 11 and enter here. <u>This amount is due and payable on or</u> before the due date indicated on the report. A penalty of 25 percent may apply on late-filed Fee Statements.

#### **CARRIERS ENGAGING SUBCARRIERS**

Line 13: Enter on this line the amount you paid as a primary carrier to engaged subcarriers on revenue subject to fees. A subcarrier who engages another subcarrier (sub-subcarrier) should also enter on this line the gross amount paid to such sub-subcarrier(s).

# FEDERAL DEFINITION OF "CHARTER TRANSPORTATION"

"[T]ransportation, using a bus, of a group of persons who pursuant to a common purpose, under a single contract, at a fixed charge for the motor vehicle, have acquired the exclusive use of the motor vehicle to travel together under an itinerary either specified in advance or modified after having left the place of origin."

NOTE: There are some types of transportation that are performed under a Commission charter-party authority which do not meet the above federal definition of "charter transportation." Examples of charter-party services that <u>do not</u> meet the federal definition of charter transportation are:

- 1. Round-trip sightseeing services for which passengers pay on an individual fare basis
- (because it does not involve exclusive use of the vehicle by a group).
- 2. Transportation services conducted incidental to another business.
- 3. Operations as a sub-carrier for a passenger stage corporation.
- 4. Transportation of pupils to and from a private school.

# For purposes of applying the federal preemption, the Public Utilities Commission defines "bus" as a vehicle designed, used, or maintained for carrying 32 or more passengers.

If the operator submitting the fee statement is an individual, the statement should be signed by the individual. If the operator submitting the fee statement is a partnership, the statement should be signed by one of the partners. If the operator submitting the fee statement is a corporation, the statement should be signed by an authorized corporate officer. If the operator submitting the fee statement is an LLC, the statement should be signed by an authorized managing member.

**HOW TO PAY:** Please pay by check or money order made payable to: CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION (CPUC). (Your PSG Number should be written on your check or money order.) Mail your payment with your fee statement to:

#### CALIFORNIA PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION FISCAL OFFICE 505 VAN NESS AVENUE San Francisco, CA 94102-3298

A returned dishonored check will be subject to a \$10.00 service charge and will subject you to a 25% late penalty payment. FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: Contact the Fiscal Office at <u>cashiering@cpuc.ca.gov</u>.