323 Area Code Background


The 323 area code was created when it was split off of the 213 area code in June 1998. Decision (D.) 96-12-06 adopted a policy calling for the use of geographic split for all area code relief plans in California through the year 2000 with the possible exception of the 310, as thousand-block pooling and local number portability were not implemented yet. D.97-02-017, citing the policy established in D.96-12-086, adopted the geographic split of the 213 area code and the simultaneous introduction of the 323 area code. The 213 area code, created in 1947 as one of the original three area codes in the state, today serves the downtown portion of the City of Los Angeles within the county of Los Angeles.



The area served by the 323 area code is largely made up of the City of Los Angeles, as well as neighboring cities and unincorporated portions of Los Angeles County. The 323 area code serves all or parts of the following cities:

  1. Alhambra
  2. Bell
  3. Bell Gardens
  4. Beverly Hills
  5. Commerce
  6. Cudahy
  7. Glendale
  8. Hawthorne
  9. Huntington Park
  10. Inglewood
  11. Los Angeles
  12. Lynwood
  13. Maywood
  14. Montebello
  15. Monterey Park
  16. Pasadena
  17. Rosemead
  18. South Gate
  19. South Pasadena
  20. Vernon
  21. West Hollywood

This area code has a mix of metropolitan city, suburban cities with residential, commercial and light industrial areas with varied growth. The 323 area code is bordered on the north by the 818/747 area code overlay complex, to the west by the 310/424 area code overlay complex, to the east by the 626 area code and to southeast by the 562 area code.


Immigration Guide