En Español 

Notices Mandated by Assembly Bill 1830 for Mobile Home Park Tenants

Background

On September 25, 2012 Governor Brown signed into law Assembly Bill 1830 (AB 1830), which amends Section 2705.6 of the Public Utilities Code.  Under this bill, if a complaint is filed with the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) by tenants of a Mobile Home Park (MHP) that provides water service only to its tenants from water supplies and facilities it owns, AND the complaint is signed by tenants representing 10% or more of the MHP’s water service connections during any 12-month period, THEN the CPUC has the authority to determine whether the rates are just and reasonable and whether the service is adequate.  The bill also requires MHPs to notify tenants of their rights.  The law is effective after December 31, 2012.

AB 1830 allows former tenants who have lived at the MHP within the last five years to file a complaint along with current tenants.

Letter to MHP owners and managers  

Read our press release on this issue. (En Español

Responsibility of  MHP Owners and Managers

AB 1830 requires MHPs to provide a notice to all new tenants at the time they establish residence within the MHP and to all tenants each time the MHP changes water rates or service.  The notice must be in English and languages of primary communication with the resident receiving the notice.  AB 1830 makes failure to provide the required notice subject to penalties under Public Utilities Code Utilities Code, Section 2111 cited below:

"Every corporation or person… who knowingly violates or fails to comply with… any order, decision, rule, direction, demand, or requirement of the [California Public Utilities] commission…is subject to a penalty of not less than five hundred dollars ($500), nor more than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) for each offense." 

Approved Notices

Managers and owners of MHPs that meet the requirements of AB 1830 can click on the link below to download and print the notices, approved by CPUC’s Public Advisor’s Office, to provide them to their tenants.

We will post notices in other languages as we receive requests.

Complaint Form

Tenants of MHPs that meet the requirements of AB 1830 can click on the link below to download and print the complaint form approved by the CPUC’s Public Advisor’s Office. Instructions on completing the form are included with the form. If you still have questions or need assistance filing the complaint please contact the CPUC’s Public Advisor's Office. 

We will post notices in other languages as we receive requests.

Questions/Comments

Please contact CPUC’s Public Advisor’s Office to:

  • Request translation of the customer notice into other languages
  • Request assistance in understanding process of filing a complaint
  • Ask questions on this subject

Telephone: 1-866-849-8390 or 415-703-2074

E-mail: public.advisor@cpuc.ca.gov 

Mailing Address:
Public Advisor's Office - CPUC
505 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102
 
 

 

 


Immigration Guide