Skip to: Content | Footer | Accessibility
Click for RSS Feed of PUC Website     |    Resizing Fonts

  Search:    
Welcome to the California Public Utilities Commission
Skip Navigation LinksPUC > Communications > Service Provider Programs and Information > Apply to Become a Telecommunications Provider

Information for Telecommunications Applicants and Registrants in California

The Commission adopted processes/requirements to become a communications service provider in California. A communications service carrier may secure Commission authority to operate in California through one or more of the following methods:

 

Service Type Competitive Local Carrier (CLC) Non-Dominant Interexchange Carrier (NDIEC) (long-distance providers and/or phone card providers) Commercial Mobile Radiotelephone Services (CMRS) Carrier
Authority Public Utilities Code Section 1001 Public Utilities Code Section 1013 Decision (D.)94-10-031
Process/Requirement CPCN Application NDIEC Registration Wireless ID Registration
Application/ Registration Fee $75*

$250

$250 ***

  Continuous Performance Bond Requirement (Sample Bond)   $25,000

$25,000 minimum**

$25,000

Annual User Fee requirement Commission’s established rate in effect (currently set at 0.18% of gross intrastate revenue) or $100, whichever is greater. Commission’s established rate in effect (currently set at 0.18% of gross intrastate revenue) or $100, whichever is greater. Commission’s established rate in effect (currently set at 0.18% of gross intrastate revenue) or $100, whichever is greater.
Additional Information and References Click Here Click Here Click Here

 

* The current fee is in effect until the Legislation has approved the application fee increase established in Decision 13-05-035. Application Fees do not include fees related to CEQA Review.

** On an annual basis, the performance bond should be equal to or greater than 10% of intrastate revenues reported on the Commission’s User Fee Statement during the preceding calendar year or $25,000, whichever is greater.

*** The fee increase is pursuant to D.13.05-035, Ordering Paragraph 19.

 

It is important that all applicants and registrants are familiar with the processes and requirements to become a telecommunications service provider in California. Please obtain and review the following documents for your reference:

  • Public Utilities Code - The Public Utilities Code is the law, which applicant must adhere to when conducting business as a utility in California. Applicant should familiarize itself with all the sections of the Code that apply to telecommunications companies.

  • Rules of Practice and Procedure - The Rules of Practice and Procedure provide guidelines for submitting (ie: filing) the application documents.

  • General Order 96-B - General Order No. 96-B is particularly useful as reference material for draft tariffs, which must be submitted with the application.

STEPS TO FILING YOUR APPLICATION OR REGISTRATION

  • Identify the type of service your carrier will provide and review the corresponding additional information and references.

  • Prepare and complete your application or registration.

  • Submit your application or registration along with the required documentations and fees.

  •   For CPCN Applications and NDIEC Registration

One original and 6 copies of your application (or petition) must be filed with the Commission's Docket Office. You may mail or hand-deliver your application to the following addresses:

California Public Utilities Commission
Docket Office
505 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102

Or use the CPUC E-file System

In addition, 1 copy must be sent to the following:

Ryan Dulin, Director
Communications Division
505 Van Ness
San Francisco, CA 94102

and for facilities-based applicants, one copy must be sent to:

Jensen Uchida
CEQA Telecommunications Projects Manager
Energy Division
505 Van Ness Ave
San Francisco, CA 94102

  • For Wireless ID Registration

Mail or hand-deliver the 1 copy of the registration form to the following address:

California Public Utilities Commission

Communications Division

WIR or VoIP Registration

505 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102

Or send it via E-mail to: Telcofiling@cpuc.ca.gov

Additional Information and References for:

  • Competitive Local Carrier (CLC)

  •   D.13-05-035: Revises the certification process for telephone corporations seeking or holding certificates of public convenience and necessity, and wireless carriers seeking or holding registration.

  •   D.97-09-115: Extends the coverage of the Commission's adopted rules for local exchange competition to include the service territories of Roseville Telephone Company and Citizens Telephone Company.

  •   D.97-08-059: Addresses the additional retail services to be offered for resale to CLCs, restrictions on the resale of services and the extent of wholesale discounts to services subject to resale.

  •   D.96-12-020: Adopts modifications in our administrative processing of facilities-based CLC filings to institute a quarterly schedule for the processing of filings for facilities-based CLC CPCNs.

  •   D.96-04-052: Adopts rates for Interim Number Portability for facilities-based CLCs.

  •   D.96-04-049: Adopts customer notification and education rules for Calling Party Number (CPN) passage by CLCs

  •   D.96-03-020: Sets wholesale rates and establishes which services are available for resale. Deals with LEC pricing flexibility and rating areas.

  •   D.96-02-072: Decision certificating 59 reseller CLCs. The decision also addresses additional rules and contains a complete set of interim rules (compiled from D. 95-07-054 and D.95-12-057). Decision requires CLC to use Pacific Bell or GTEC limitation of liability tariffs in its tariff.

  •  D.95-12-057: Decision certificating the initial group of 31 facilities-based CLCs. This decision also includes additional information helpful in preparing an application for CLC authority.

  •   D.95-12-056: A "must read" for all facilities-based applicants. The decision establishes rules for interconnection with LECs.

  •   D.95-07-054: Adopts initial rules for CLCs in Appendices A and B. The decision and appendices contain Consumer Protection Rules and other information necessary to complete the application and tariffs.

The following decisions may be ordered from our Central Files Office at (415) 703-2045:

  •   D.99-12-050: Filings docketed after January 1, 2000, facilities-based CLCs seeking CPCN authority shall make their filing in the form of a separate application and shall no longer be docketed as a petition in Investigation 95-04-044.

  •   D.99-02-038: Relieves competitive local carriers (CLCs) from the requirement to keep their books of account in conformance with the Uniform System of Accounts (USOA).

  • Non-Dominant Interexchange Carrier (NDIEC) - long-distance providers and/or phone card providers pursuant to § 1013

  • D.11-09-026: Clarified that the performance bond required by PUC §1013 (f) could be used to facilitate the collection of taxes or fees both in addition to fines, penalties, or restitution.

  • D.10-09-017: Revised the streamlined registration process for applicants seeking Commission authority to operate as Non-Dominant Interexchange Carrier Telephone Corporations (NDIECs) in California.

  • Commercial Mobile Radiotelephone Services (CMRS) Carrier

  •   D.13-05-035: Revises the certification process for telephone corporations seeking or holding certificates of public convenience and necessity, and wireless carriers seeking or holding registration.

  •   D.95-10-032: Establishes that the Commission does not regulate market entry and rates of CMRS providers.

  •   D.94-10-031: Adopted a wireless registration process for all CMRS providers within California.

  •   In compliance with FCC ruling: January 23, 2007: Wireless Telecommunications Bureau Announces Changes to the Universal Licensing System and FCC Form 603 (DA No. 07-157).

  

Last Modified: 3/13/2014


 
 
Visit the CalPhoneInfo website!