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PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

505 VAN NESS AVENUE

SAN FRANCISCO, CA  94102-3298

November 10, 2009                                                                            VIA E-MAIL

                                                                                                          <TYPE> <ID NUMBER>

                                                                                                           <E-MAIL>

TO:  ALL TELECOMMUNICATIONS CARRIERS FILING CONTRACTS

SUBJECT:  Informal staff process for collection of penalties for submission of late filed contracts

On April 28, 2009, the Communications Division gave notice to all carriers filing contracts by advice letter that late filed contracts may be subject to penalties.  This letter clarifies the process for determining and assessing penalties. 

The rules for advice letter submission of contracts for tariffed services are contained in Section 8.1 of the Telecommunications Industry Rules.  Such contracts must be filed no later than 15 business days after execution of the contract as explained in the order below.
                    http://docs.cpuc.ca.gov/PUBLISHED/GENERAL_ORDER/100177.htm#P1317_132188
Penalties recommended by staff for late filed contracts for tariffed services are the same as those the Commission authorized for late filed government contracts (D.91-07-010)

	Lateness of Filing in Months
	Penalty Factor to Be Applied to Total Contract Revenues

	1 or fraction
	¼ %

	2
	½ %

	3
	1 %

	4
	4 %

	5
	5 %

	6
	6 %

	7
	7 %

	8
	8 %

	9
	9 %

	10 or more
	10 %


If when a carrier files a tariff service contract late, Communications Division (CD) staff will initiate an informal process and send a penalty letter notifying the carrier that the contract was filed late and a fine is owed.  CD will calculate the fine based on the total contract revenue for tariffed services and the penalty factor in the above table.  Staff may forbear collecting penalties for penalty amounts deemed immaterial.

Each carrier receiving a penalty letter from the Communications Division may simply choose to pay the demand as requested by staff or send an appeal letter of the penalty to the CD Director within 30 days of the date of the CD penalty letter.  If payment is made, a check should be made payable to the California Public Utilities Commission with reference to the contract advice letter number and a copy of the penalty s letter.  It should be mailed to: 

California Public Utilities Commission
505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 3000

San Francisco, CA 94102

Attn:  Fiscal Office, c/o Elsa Cerezo

If a carrier seeks to appeal the CD penalty letter, the carrier’s letter will need to provide an explanation and any supporting data to justify the elimination of the penalty action.  Appeals would be expected to demonstrate circumstances beyond the carrier’s control and not claim an inadvertent oversight.  CD staff may follow-up on the matter with the carrier as necessary and may either accept or deny the appeal.   
To the extent the appeal is denied and the penalty is still owed 75 days after issuance of the penalty letter, CD will prepare a draft Resolution to the Commission for formal Commission action on the matter.  The carrier can protest the draft Resolution as rules allow.  
Thank you for your attention to this matter.  If you have any questions on this matter, please call Mr. Richard Fish at (415)-703-1923.

Sincerely, 

             /S/ Jack Leutza

Jack Leutza, Director

Communications Division




