# California Public Utilities Commission



## Overview of Transportation Network Company (TNC) Regulations

The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) is responsible for the safety of for-hire passenger transportation and has regulatory authority over TNCs. The following are some important rules that all TNC drivers must observe:

## **TNC Driver Requirements**

**Trade Dress.** Vehicles must display the TNC's registered trade dress (i.e., distinctive signage or display on the vehicle). *As of June 27, 2016, the trade dress must be visible from the front and rear of the vehicle.* The registered trade dresses of the TNCs are shown below:



**Waybill Requirements.** Upon request, drivers shall display to CPUC investigators, airport enforcement officers, law enforcement, or city and county officials a record of a ride to establish that it was prearranged.

**Prearranged Rides.** All Transportation must be arranged through the app. Drivers are strictly prohibited from accepting street hails or soliciting rides off the app.

No Discrimination. TNC drivers must not discriminate

against passengers based upon the destination, race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, age, sexual orientation/identity, or use of bona fide service animal. *Updated 11-7-17* 



# California Public Utilities Commission



## Overview of Transportation Network Company (TNC) Regulations

The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) is responsible for the safety of for-hire passenger transportation and has regulatory authority over TNCs. The following are some important rules that all TNC drivers must observe:

## **TNC Driver Requirements**

**Trade Dress.** Vehicles must display the TNC's registered trade dress (i.e., distinctive signage or display on the vehicle). *As of June 27, 2016, the trade dress must be visible from the front and rear of the vehicle.* The registered trade dresses of the TNCs are shown below:



Waybill Requirements. Upon request, drivers shall display to CPUC investigators, airport enforcement officers, law enforcement, or city and county officials a record of a ride to establish that it was prearranged.

**Prearranged Rides.** All Transportation must be arranged through the app. Drivers are strictly prohibited from accepting street hails or soliciting rides off the app.

No Discrimination. TNC drivers must not discriminate

against passengers based upon the destination, race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, age, sexual orientation/identity, or use of bona fide service animal.



Updated 11-7-17



### TNC Driver Requirements — Continued

**Vehicle Inspections.** TNC vehicles must be inspected by a facility licensed by the Bureau of Automotive Repairs annually or every 50,000 miles, whichever comes first.

**Insurance.** TNC drivers must provide proof of both personal and TNC insurance in the case of an accident.

TNCs must have the following levels of insurance coverage:

*Period 1 (app is on waiting for a ride)* – \$50,000 for death and personal injury per person, \$100,000 for death and personal injury per incident, and \$30,000 for property damage

*Period 2 (a ride has been accepted or in progress)* – \$1,000,000 for death, personal injury, and property damage. \$1,000,000 uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist insurance.

**Caution:** In case of an accident, your personal insurance may not cover any damage to your vehicle or pay for your medical expenses. A commercial or hybrid policy may provide such protection.

### Penalties - Public Utilities Code Sections

\$5413 Violations of Commission TNC regulations by TNC driver is "a misdemeanor, and is punishable by a fine of not more than two thousand dollars (\$2,000) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than three months, or both."

\$5414 Each day's violation is a separate and distinct offence.

For more information visit: www.cpuc.ca.gov/MoveAndRide







#### TNC Driver Requirements — Continued

**Vehicle Inspections.** TNC vehicles must be inspected by a facility licensed by the Bureau of Automotive Repairs annually or every 50,000 miles, whichever comes first.

**Insurance.** TNC drivers must provide proof of both personal and TNC insurance in the case of an accident.

TNCs must have the following levels of insurance coverage:

*Period 1 (app is on waiting for a ride)* – \$50,000 for death and personal injury per person, \$100,000 for death and personal injury per incident, and \$30,000 for property damage

Period 2 (a ride has been accepted or in progress) – \$1,000,000 for death, personal injury, and property damage. \$1,000,000 uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist insurance.

**Caution:** In case of an accident, your personal insurance may not cover any damage to your vehicle or pay for your medical expenses. A commercial or hybrid policy may provide such protection.

#### Penalties - Public Utilities Code Sections

\$5413 Violations of Commission TNC regulations by TNC driver is "a misdemeanor, and is punishable by a fine of not more than two thousand dollars (\$2,000) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than three months, or both."

\$5414 Each day's violation is a separate and distinct offence.

For more information visit: www.cpuc.ca.gov/MoveAndRide



