

Overview of Transportation Network Company (TNC) Regulations

The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) is responsible for regulatory oversight and enforcement of Transportation Network Companies. The following references highlight some important rules that all TNC drivers must observe.*

TNC Driver Requirements



Trade Dress

Vehicles must display the TNC's registered trade dress. **As of June 27, 2016, the trade dress must be visible from the front and rear of the vehicle.** The registered trade dresses of the TNCs are shown below:



Prearranged Rides

All Transportation must be arranged through the app. Drivers are strictly prohibited from accepting street hails or soliciting rides off the app.



Waybill Requirements

Upon request, drivers shall display to CPUC Enforcement Analyst, airport enforcement officers, law enforcement, or city and county officials a record of a ride to establish that it was prearranged.

×

No Discrimination

TNC drivers must not discriminate against passengers based upon the destination, race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, age, sexual orientation/identity, or use of bona fide service animal.



Vehicle Inspections

TNC vehicles must be inspected by a facility licensed by the Bureau of Automotive Repairs annually or every 50,000 miles, whichever comes first.

continued on back

*A full list of rules and regulations is contained in General Order 157-E and the Public Utilities Code



California Public Utilities Commission

505 Van Ness Ave. San Francisco, CA 94102 800-848-5580 (Toll Free) <u>cpuc.ca.gov</u>



Overview of Transportation Network Company Regulations

continued from front



Insurance

TNC drivers must provide proof of both personal and TNC insurance in the case of an accident.

TNCs must have the following levels of insurance coverage:

- **PERIOD 1: App open waiting for match.** \$50,000 for death and personal injury per person, \$100,000 for death and personal injury per incident, and \$30,000 for property damage.
- PERIOD 2: Match accepted but passenger not yet picked up (i.e. driver is on his/her way to pick up the passenger). \$1,000,000 for death, personal injury, and property damage. \$1,000,000 uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist insurance.
- PERIOD 3: Passenger in the vehicle and until the passenger exits the vehicle. \$1,000,000 for death, personal injury, and property damage. \$1,000,000 uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist insurance.

Caution: In case of an accident, your personal insurance may not cover any damage to your vehicle or pay for your medical expenses. A commercial or hybrid policy may provide such protection.

Penalties – Public Utilities Code Sections

- \$5411 Every charter-party carrier of passengers in violation of the Commission regulations is guilty of a misdemeanor. It is punishable by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars (\$1,000) and not more than five thousand dollars (\$5,000) or by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than three months, or by both that fine and imprisonment.
- \$5413 Every charter-party carrier of passengers in violation of the Commission regulations is subject to a penalty of not more than two thousand dollars (\$2,000) for each offense.
- §5415 Each day's violation is a separate and distinct offense.

For more information visit: www.cpuc.ca.gov/tncinfo

