
If you need help with a dispute about your 
telecommunications service or bill, first con-
tact your phone company. If your issue is not 
resolved, you can file a complaint online at: 

www.calphoneinfo.com or call the Con-
sumer Affairs Branch and Utility Fraud 

Hotline at : 1(800) 649-7570 
 

 

Be Safe—Not Distracted! 

You can be hurt or killed if 

you let your cell phone dis-

tract you while driving.   

Recent statistics show that 

your chances of getting into a 

crash increase 400% while 

using your cell phone.  
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If you are not able to resolve  
your dispute with your service provider, 

call the Consumer Affairs Branch
(800) 649-7570



It is against the law  
California law says:  

Texting while driving is against the law.   

Talking on your cell phone while driving is 
against the law for people under the age of 
18. Adults may talk on their cell phones but 
are not permitted to hold a cell phone while 
driving.  Everyone may use cell phones to 
make emergency calls.  Even then, it’s wise 
to first pull over someplace safe.  

The fines, for texting or failing to use a 
hands free device with your cell phone, 
may start around $160 and may in-
crease with additional tickets.  

 

BE SAFE!  Do Not Use Your Cell Phone While Driving  
Statistics 
The law and an awareness program went 
into effect in 2008.  Since then, accidents 
have declined; however, too many people 
are still hurt or killed because people contin-
ue to use their cell phones while driving.   

Between 2008 and 2010, 53 California driv-
ers were killed while holding their cell 
phones.  Cell phones were a likely factor in 
other traffic deaths too, because the main 
cause of distracted driving is cell phone use.   

In a recent study of 5,000 California college 
students, 18% said they had been in a dis-
tracted driving accident.  Of those, 22% 
were due to texting, and 14% to talking on a 
cell phone. 

 

 

It is  
dangerous.

It is dangerous to use a cell phone 
while driving 

Texting while driving can delay your reac-
tions as much as having a blood alcohol 
content (BAC) of .08.  This is the same as a 
drunk driver! 

Texting takes your eyes off the road for an 
average of five seconds.  This is long 
enough to travel the length of a football field 
at 55 mph.  Most crashes happen with less 
than 3 seconds' reaction time. 

 
Don't become a statistic.  Don’t make someone else just a memory.  
Turn your phone off while driving.   
 
For more information, see the California Highway Patrol's website and the California 
Office of Traffic Safety.   
 
For true stories involving cell phones and driving, see http://www.distraction.gov/
content/faces/index.html. 

Inattention Blindness 
Studies show that talking on a cell phone is dan-
gerous.  People talking on cell phones experi-
ence inattention blindness. That is   when your 
brain can’t see what is right in front of you be-
cause you are too busy with your call. 


