Consolidated Communications, Inc. ("CCI")



Residential Services

This information is provided by Consolidated Communications of California Company (U-1015-C) as required by the California Public Utilities Commission, and is subject to change upon applicable authorization and/or notice.

2020-2021 Annual Notice



Types of Service and Rates

Residential Basic Service

With flat rate service you can make any number of calls of any duration in your local calling area for a fixed monthly charge. Select measured rate service and only pay for what you use. Receive a \$3.00 allowance toward Zone 1 calls (local calling area). Usage charges for Zone 1 calls: 4.5¢ for the first minute and 1.5¢ for each additional minute. Additional information for Zone 1 and Zone 3 calls can be located in the CCI Telephone Directory.

Roseville/Granite Bay/Citrus Heights/Antelope Monthly Rates

Flat Rate Service \$24.44/mo. Measured Rate Service \$18.44/mo.

Monthly rates shown above do not include equipment rental or any optional services (e.g., Custom Calling or Advanced Features, Non-Published Service, or any taxes, surcharges or authorized fees).

Optional Calling Plans

Area Plan

\$4.27 per month – 30% discount for toll charges up to \$45.00 and a 40% discount for charges over \$45.00 will apply on all direct dialed toll calls and credit card calls made within your Service Area.*

Community Select Plan

\$6.65 per month – choose one community within your Service Area and receive a 40% discount for all direct dialed calls to that community. You will also receive a 30% discount on all other direct dialed toll calls within your Service Area.*

*Zone 3, Operator Assisted, 900 and 976 Information Service calls do not qualify for the discount.

Residential Zone Calling Plan

\$19.95 per month, per line – the Residential Zone Calling Plan provides unlimited calling to Zone 3 calls without usage charges. (Zone calling areas can be located on page 14 of your CCI Telephone Directory.)

Non-Published Service

Your name, address and phone number are automatically listed alphabetically in the white pages of the directory. However, if you prefer not to be listed, you may request non-published service or other listing options from your representative. Since non-published service requires special handling of your records, there is a charge of \$1.99 per month.

California LifeLine

The California LifeLine Program (California LifeLine) provides discounts on phone services to qualified residential households. This consumer program of the California Public Utilities Commission helps to lower consumers' phone bills. Consumers must be approved before receiving the California LifeLine discounts. For more information on program eligibility, go to www.cpuc.ca.gov/ults/.

HOW TO APPLY FOR THE CALIFORNIA LIFELINE DISCOUNTS

If you think your household qualifies for the California LifeLine discounts, call CCI at 1-916-786-3232 or 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224). We will review the program and eligibility rules with you. We will also inform the California LifeLine Administrator to mail you an application form in a **PINK** envelope with a Personal Identification Number (PIN). You can apply online at www.californialifeline.com using your PIN, or you can complete, sign, and mail the application form and any required proof of eligibility to the California LifeLine Administrator. The application form and any required documents must be completed and returned before the response date indicated on the form. If you do not return the completed application form, or fail to provide the required documentation, you will not receive the California LifeLine discounts and you will continue to pay the regular rates for your phone service.

If you apply to be in California LifeLine, you will pay the regular rates for your phone service until your application is approved. To help you pay the up-front costs of establishing your phone service like the service installation/connection fee, service conversion fee, and deposits, you can request to be on an interest-free payment plan. After being approved by the California LifeLine Administrator you will be refunded

the difference between the regular rates and the California LifeLine discounted rates for your phone service. The refund and the California LifeLine discounts will be retroactive to the date your service began or the date you requested to be enrolled, whichever is later. If your bill has a net credit balance of \$10.00 or more, you may request a refund check from CCI. Otherwise, the refund will just be a credit on your account.

ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES

You can qualify for the California LifeLine discounts by either Program-Based OR Income-Based. Qualifying by Program-Based means that you or another person in your household is enrolled in any one of the following:

QUALIFYING PROGRAM-BASED PUBLIC ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS

- Medicaid/Medi-Cal
- Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
- Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
- Federal Public Housing Assistance or Section 8
- CalFresh, Food Stamps or Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
- Women, Infants and Children Program (WIC)
- National School Lunch Program (NSL)
- Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
 - 1. California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs)
 - 2. Stanislaus County Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (StanWORKs)
 - 3. Welfare-to-Work (WTW)
 - 4. Greater Avenues for Independence (GAIN)
- Tribal TANF
- Bureau of Indian Affairs General Assistance
- Head Start Income Eligible (Tribal Only)
- Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations
- Federal Veterans and Survivors Pension Benefit Program

Qualifying by Income-Based means that your household total annual income is at or less than 150% of the Federal Poverty Guidelines. Applicants cannot be claimed as a dependent on another person's income tax return.

INCOME-BASED CALIFORNIA LIFELINE INCOME LIMITS

Effective June 1, 2020 to May 31, 2021

| Household Size | Annual Income Limits |
|------------------------|-----------------------------|
| 1 or 2 members | \$28,700 |
| 3 members | \$32,600 |
| 4 members | \$39,700 |
| Each Additional Member | \$7,100 |

ONLY ONE CALIFORNIA LIFELINE DISCOUNTED SERVICE PER HOUSEHOLD IS ALLOWED

Each household must choose to get the discount either on a home phone or on a cell phone, but not on both. Households cannot get the discount from multiple phone companies. Only one California LifeLine discount per household is allowed, except for TTY users, in which case a second phone line may be discounted. Households that do not follow the California LifeLine one discounted service per household rule will lose their discounts, and may be prosecuted by the U.S. government. Individuals can also be punished for giving false information to get the discounts. Penalties can include imprisonment, losing the discounts, monetary fines, and being banned from the California LifeLine Program. The discounts can only be for the primary residence. Discounts are non-transferable from one person to another.

California LifeLine participants may transfer their discounts from one phone company to another, but you may NOT have more than one phone line active with the California LifeLine discounts. If you choose to transfer your California LifeLine discounts from CCI to another California LifeLine provider, then CCI will charge retail rates for you to continue using your phone service.

HOW TO KEEP YOUR CALIFORNIA LIFELINE DISCOUNTS

You must renew your California LifeLine participation annually. The California LifeLine Administrator will mail you a renewal form in a **PINK** envelope with a Personal Identification Number (PIN). You can renew online at **www.californialifeline.com** using your PIN, or you can complete, sign, and mail the form to the California LifeLine Administrator. You can also renew by phone by contacting the California LifeLine Administrator. If you do not renew before the response date, you will lose the California LifeLine discounts and will be charged the regular rates. If you have questions about your renewal, contact the California LifeLine Administrator at **877-858-7463** or **888-858-7889** (TTY) from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday.

If you believe your household no longer qualifies for the discounts or if your household is getting more than one discount by mistake, you must inform CCI or the California LifeLine Administrator within 30 days. If you do not follow this notification rule, you may be penalized.

DE-ENROLLMENT RULES

Your household may lose the California LifeLine discounts if your household no longer qualifies, is already receiving the

discounts (except for TTY), violates the California LifeLine Program's rules, or does not renew the discounts on an annual basis.

Connection Charges

Service Connection Charges for Single Line Service

When you order new service or request changes in your existing service, you are charged only for the specific work that actually has to be done. The amount you are charged is determined by the type of work completed.

Service Ordering Charge (processing your order):

New service or transfer of service: \$23.75 Change in existing service: \$12.00

Central Office Charge:

Connecting or changing your line in our switching office: \$25.25

Home Visit Charge:

When an Installation Technician is dispatched to your home: \$59.50

If some of these steps are not necessary, you will not be charged for them. Your Service Representative can tell you what your maximum charges will be when you place an order for service.

Custom Calling Features

Custom Calling Features recorded instructions: 916-786-5600. Not all features work in all parts of the 916/279 area codes.

Anonymous Call Rejection

\$2.99 per month – This service is for use with the Caller ID feature. Calls will be rejected from callers who use Caller ID Blocking. The caller will hear a recording informing the caller to hang up, deactivate thier Caller ID blocking and try the call again.

Auto Redial/Busy Line Redial

\$3.99 per month – Automatically checks a busy number for you for up to 30 minutes and alerts you with a distinctive ring when the line becomes free.

Call Forwarding

\$3.99 per month – Enables you to transfer your incoming calls to any telephone you can dial direct without Operator Assistance in the United States and Canada. Other variations of Call Forwarding are available; call Customer Services at 916-786-3232 or 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224) for more details.

5

Call Forward Remote Access

\$3.99 per month – Enables you to activate or deactivate your Call Forwarding feature while away from home. Customer must also subscribe to Call Forwarding.

Call Trace

\$5.00 per activation – The customer must contact Customer Services, 916-786-3232 or 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224), to record a caller's originating telephone number. The traced number will only be released to the law enforcement agency handling the harassment complaint.

Call Waiting/Cancel

\$4.99 per month – Lets you know someone else is calling when you are using the telephone. Also enables you to cancel Call Waiting for the duration of one call.

Caller ID (Number Only)

\$4.99 per month – This service allows you to identify the telephone number of the calling party. Caller ID display unit must be purchased separately.

Caller ID with Name

\$7.99 per month – Allows you to see the name and/or telephone number, date and time of the incoming call. If the calling party subscribes to Complete Blocking or invokes Selective Blocking, the information will not be displayed. The Caller ID unit must be purchased separately.

Conference Calling - Three-Way

\$3.99 per month – Lets you add a third party to your existing conversation.

Conference Calling - Six-Way

\$5.00 per month – You can build a conference call with up to five other parties.

Last Call Return

Available under the subscribed option or the per-use option.

\$3.99 per month – Automatically dials the last missed incoming call. Allows unlimited use of the Last Call Return feature.

When not subscribed to the \$3.99 monthly service, it is 75¢ per use. When not subscribed to this service, monthly billing for the use of this service will not exceed \$6.00.

Priority Ringing

\$3.99 per month – Pre-select up to ten important telephone numbers that will generate a distinctive or "important" ring.

Selective Call Acceptance

\$3.99 per month – Program your phone to accept only those calls from a specified list of phone numbers for up to ten phone numbers. Only calls placed from these numbers will ring through. All other callers will hear an announcement that the party being called is not accepting calls at this time.

Selective Call Forwarding

\$3.99 per month – Select up to ten numbers to automatically forward to any telephone number you choose. Only these numbers will be transferred to the forwarded numbers. All other calls will ring through to your regular number. This feature does not work with Remote Access to Call Forwarding.

Selective Call Rejection

\$3.99 per month – Block up to ten selected telephone numbers within your service area. The caller will hear a short, polite message advising that you are not receiving calls.

Speed Calling

Eight Numbers – \$3.99 per month – Allows you to call up to eight frequently-called numbers by dialing one digit.

Thirty Numbers – \$5.00 per month – Allows you to call up to 30 frequently-called numbers by dialing two digits.

Toll Restriction

\$3.99 per month – Provides the customer the capability of restricting originating calls to certain toll points.

Custom Calling Feature Discounts

Order two or more Custom Calling Features and receive one of the following discounts:

Two Features 25%
Three Features 30%
Four or more 35%

Advanced Features

Call Trace

\$12.00 to activate feature. Plus, an additional \$2.00 per successful trace: automatically requests CCI to record a caller's originating telephone number. The traced number will only be released to the law enforcement agency handling the harassment complaint.

Do Not Disturb

\$3.99 per month – allows you to temporarily refuse all incoming calls.

Multiple Directory Numbers

\$5.99 per number each month: you can have up to three additional telephone numbers for incoming calls on your existing line. Each additional number will have a distinctive ringing pattern.

Remote Activation of Call Forwarding

\$1.99 per month – enables you to activate or deactivate your Call Forwarding feature while away from home. Customer must also subscribe to Call Forwarding.

Toll Restriction

\$5.99 per month – provides the customer the ability to restrict outgoing calls to certain toll points.

There is a charge of \$12.00 per order to rearrange features. You can order more than one of these services at the same time and pay only one \$12.00 charge. For services added later, a \$12.00 charge will apply.

Packages

Local Select Voice Mail

with Basic Voice Mail \$ 8.00/mo. with Enhanced Voice Mail \$10.00/mo. with Premium Voice Mail \$14.00/mo.

\$2.00 activation fee

This package includes Residential Zone Calling Plan, a choice of any one of three mailboxes and a choice of any two Custom Calling Features from a select list.

Local Select Features Only

\$8.00 per month – this package includes Residential Zone Calling Plan and a choice of any five Custom Calling Features from a select list. Upgrade from the Custom Calling Feature beyond the included five – \$1.50 per feature.

NOTE: Custom Calling Features included in packages do not qualify for the Custom Calling Feature Discount. Basic Service is not included in Package pricing.

Voice Mail

Some Voice Mail services have additional features that are not listed. Call our Residential Services Office, 916.786.3232 or 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224) for details.

Greeting Only

\$5.00 per month – caller receives a greeting message

(maximum three minutes in length). No voice message can be recorded.

Economy

\$5.00 per month – 10, one-minute voice messages can be saved for a maximum of seven days. Greeting message is one minute maximum.

Basic

\$9.00 per month – 20, two-minute voice messages can be saved for a maximum of 15 days. Greeting message is two minutes maximum.

Enhanced

\$11.00 per month – 30, three-minute voice messages can be saved for a maximum of 30 days. Greeting message is three minutes maximum.

Premium

\$17.00 per month – 99, five-minute voice messages can be saved for a maximum of 30 days. Greeting message is five minutes maximum.

Ultra Premium

\$39.95 per month – 250, five-minute voice messages can be saved for a maximum of 60 days. Greeting message is five minutes maximum.

Stand Alone Mailbox

\$9.50 – \$44.50 per month depending on features selected – an alternative to an answering machine, no equipment is needed, just a touchtone telephone.

Directory Assistance

Directory Assistance Service is available for telephone numbers located within the Consolidated Communications CA service territory or anywhere in the U.S. and Canada by just dialing 411 or 916-555-1212. Charges are as follows:

- Requests for numbers within the Consolidated Communications CA service territory are 45¢ per call.
- Other number requests within the 916/279/530 area codes are 45¢ per call.
- Requests for numbers anywhere in the United States and Canada outside the 916/279/530 area codes are \$1.10/call.
- Each Directory Assistance call provides for a maximum of two listings per call. For a second listing, follow prompts at the end of the call

Directory Assistance Call Completion

80¢ – provides directory assistance customers the option of being connected to the listed number they have requested. (Not available for all listings.)

The following customers are exempt from Directory Assistance charges: Residential service when a member of the household cannot use the directory due to a visual or other physical impairment. If you are eligible for a waiver of Directory Assistance charges, please call the California Telephone Access Program at 1-800-806-1191 or TTY at 1-800-806-4474 or 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224) to request a certification form. Exemption will be granted to qualified customers.

California Relay Service

California Relay Service (CRS) is a public service which guarantees all citizens access to prompt, professional and accurate communication through the telephone. Consumers of these specialized services, specifically individuals who are deaf, deaf-blind, hard of hearing or have difficulty speaking, can communicate on the telephone via text telephone (TTY/TDD), Voice Carry Over (VCO), Hearing Carry Over (HCO), Speech-to-Speech (STS) and Captioned Telephone in English and Spanish in order to more easily connect with family, friends or businesses.

How does California Relay Service work?

Simply dial 711 or the appropriate toll-free number provided to connect with California Relay Service. A qualified Communication Assistant (CA) will ask for the area code and number of the person you wish to call and begin the relay call. Generally, the CA will voice the typed message from the text telephone (TDD/TTY) user to you. The CA relays your spoken message by typing it to the TDD/TTY user.

Specialized Services:

California Relay Service offers specialized services for individuals who have difficulty speaking and for Spanish speaking residents. Specially trained CAs are on hand to assist in these types of calls by dialing the associated number provided. Since California Relay Service offers a variety of services, please refer to the website listed or call Customer Care for more detailed instruction on how a particular call is processed.

Captioned Telephone:

Captioned Telephone is also ideal for individuals with hearing loss who are able to speak for themselves. A Captioned

Telephone is like any other telephone with an essential difference: it allows users to listen to their phone conversations while reading word-for-word captions of what's said to them.

Access to Services:

Both 711 and the 800 numbers are toll-free calls and provide access to the same relay services. If you are experiencing trouble dialing 711 to reach California Relay Service, please contact Customer Care.

All services are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Consumers may place relay calls to English and Spanish speaking persons within California, across the United States and even internationally. By law, each conversation is handled with strict confidentiality. There is no charge to access California Relay Service, although standard long distance charges apply.

To place a call using California Relay Service, dial 711 or one of the toll-free numbers below:

English TTY/Voice: 1-800-855-7100 Spanish TTY/Voice: 1-800-855-7200 Speech-to-Speech: 1-800-855-7300 Visually Assisted STS: 1-800-855-7400

Customer Care Information: English V/TTY: 877-632-9095 Spanish V/TTY: 887-419-8440 P.O. Box 285, Aurora, NE 68818 Email: california@hamiltonrelay.com

Web: www.ca-relay.com Captioned Telephone:

Customer Care: 1-888-269-7477

To call a Captioned Telephone user, dial: 1-866-399-9050

Special points of interest:

Equipment Distribution Program: The California Telecommunications Access Program offers free specialized phones including: amplified phones, text telephone (TTY), Voice Carry Over (VCO) phones, Captioned Telephones (CapTel) and other equipment to eligible individuals in California who are deaf, deaf-blind, hard of hearing, or who have difficulty speaking. For more information visit ddtp.cpuc.ca.gov or call 1-800-806-1191 (voice) or 1-800-806-4474 (TTY).

Emergency Calls: Please note that 711 is only to be used to reach California Relay. In an EMERGENCY you should continue to use 911. For emergencies, call 911 or your local emergency service TTY number directly, without using relay. The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requires that 911

centers have a TTY and be prepared to handle emergency calls placed in this manner. California Relay will make every effort to assist you in an emergency. However, it is important to understand that relay centers are not 911 centers and do not assume responsibility for emergency calls.

California Telephone Access Program

Products and services are available to all customers that have difficulty using the telephone due to a disability. These products and services are provided to certified disabled users at no additional charge over the normal monthly rate for telephone service. For product and service information call the California Telephone Access Program (CTAP) at 1-800-806-1191 or TDD at 1-800-806-4474.

Referral Service

CCI currently offers automatic telephone number referral service for customers who have requested their service to be either disconnected or changed. The standard referral period is 90 days for residential service.

Four-Hour Appointment Window

When establishing an installation or repair appointment for which the customer must be present, CCI will offer the customer a four-hour window of time during which the technician will arrive to commence work.

Telephone Fraud

Telephone fraud is any unauthorized change or charge to your telephone service. There are many common types of fraud, including cellular cloning, calling card PIN theft, and illegal long distance and Local Toll charges. Two forms of fraud – Slamming and Cramming – are even more common, but not as well known.

A Growing Problem

Slamming used to affect long distance services only, but has grown to affect local service as well. Another illegal practice, cramming, has emerged as one of the fastest growing forms of telephone fraud.

We Need Your Help

CCI is required to process orders to change long distance providers or add products and services for other telecommunications providers. We are taking steps to prevent these and other types of fraud from appearing on our bills. We are also working with regulators to seek industry-wide solutions. We cannot solve this problem alone. We need your help.

Slamming

Slamming is a deceptive practice in which your local or long distance service provider is switched without your consent. If your local service provider is changed, you will receive a final bill from CCI and a letter concerning your service disconnection. You will receive a different bill from the new provider.

If your long distance provider is changed, the name of the new provider and a \$5.00 - \$6.00 switching fee may appear on your CCI phone bill.

Cramming

Cramming is any charge added to your telephone bill by unethical third parties for products and services that you have not added and may not have received.

- If your bill is crammed, you will see an unfamiliar company name or charges for products and services you don't recognize on your CCI phone bill
- Sometimes the crammer will not provide an explanation for the charge, hoping it will go unnoticed

How to Avoid Being Slammed

To avoid having your local or long distance service provider changed without your consent, freeze restrictions can be placed on your account. Freeze restrictions prevent changes in your service provider choices without your express consent to remove the freeze. Changes in your services that are made without your permission are known as "slamming." With a freeze restriction on your account, slamming is not allowed to occur. Your authorization is needed each time to either add or remove a freeze restriction, even temporarily for the purpose of switching your long distance carrier. There is no charge for adding or removing freeze restrictions.

Prevention Tips • Read Carefully

Check your CCI telephone bill for:

- Changes to your service
- Names of unfamiliar telecommunications providers
- Unfamiliar products or services

Ask Questions

If a telemarketer calls you:

- Make sure you understand the offer before you agree
- Know what charges or fees you will have to pay
- Ask what you will receive
- Make sure the caller understands your responses

Guard Yourself

Do not give any of the following information to unknown callers:

- Your telephone number
- Financial information
- Social Security number
- Personal identification number (PIN)
- Any other personal information

Educate

Educate family members and office staff.

Select someone to make decisions about telephone services and make sure that everyone knows what to do when they receive a call regarding service. Children, baby-sitters, housekeepers and receptionists are often targeted by telephone fraud.

Fine Print

Read the fine print.

- Before you enter a contest or sign a prize check, be sure to read the fine print. Some forms contain information on changing service providers or billing for additional charges in these areas. And some companies will use your signature on these documents as proof that you have agreed to order the products or services, or to switch telephone service providers
- Look Carefully Check for monthly charges you did not authorize

Block Third-Party Charges

CCI allows you to purchase or accept long-distance toll

services from various long-distance companies, and such charges from other companies may be placed on your CCI phone bill. These types of charges are called "third-party charges." CCI offers our customers free blocking of third-party charges. Therefore, you may choose at any time to have CCI block third-party charges from appearing on your phone bill, you will still be able to use your phone, but you will not be able to purchase items from third parties and have them billed to your CCI account. If you have any questions regarding third-party charges, or to request free blocking, please contact us at 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224).

If You Think You've Been Slammed or Crammed

Be sure to call from the telephone number you believe has been slammed to verify your long distance company.

Call 1-700-555-4141

Or call CCI at 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224)

- Our customer service representatives will serve as your advocates and will help you switch back to your provider.
- If the service provider does not resolve a cramming charge, we will provide an adjustment on your telephone bill.
- Ask your CCI customer service representative how you can protect your account to prevent future changes without your permission.

Report the Slam or Cram

Contact one of the following agencies:

- California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC)
 Consumer Affairs Branch
 505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 2003
 San Francisco, CA 94102-3298
 (Monday Friday 8:30 am 4:30 pm)
 1-800-649-7570 1-415-703-4973
 or TTY at 1-800-229-6846 1-415-703-2032
 consumers.cpuc.ca.gov
- The California Attorney General's Office Public Inquiry Unit P.O. Box 944255
 Sacramento, CA 94244-2550
- Federal Communications Commission Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau Attn: SLAM Team, Room CY-A257 445 12th Street, SW Washington, DC 20554
- Your local Better Business Bureau

Know Your Rights

You have the right to return to your service provider of choice at no charge if you've been slammed. You can request that any changes to your service require your approval. And you have the right to have your choices respected.

Important Privacy Information

YOUR TELEPHONE NUMBER CAN BE SEEN BY EVERYONE YOU CALL...UNLESS YOU BLOCK IT!

Any telephone from which you place a call will automatically transmit its number to the person you are calling. Those subscribing to a service known as "Caller ID" will be able to see your name and/or telephone number before they answer their phone. You should decide who receives your telephone number: the law guarantees you that right. We also believe you should be able to choose how you would like to have your name and/or telephone number blocked – your privacy is paramount. That's why the law requires FREE blocking services that give you the freedom to choose when, how, and if your number will be shown to those you call.

Complete Blocking – Complete blocking is a FREE service that gives you permanent control over the transmission of your telephone number. Complete Blocking blocks the transmission of your telephone number on the calls you place, unless you specify otherwise. There is no need to enter a code before making each call. Those with Caller ID units who receive your calls will see the word "PRIVATE" displayed. Calls to those with Anonymous Call Rejection will receive an announcement informing the caller that the called party will not accept. calls from callers who have chosen to block display of their telephone number. You may deactivate Complete Blocking on specific calls by pressing *82 on your touch calling telephone before you dial (or by dialing 1182 on a rotary telephone).

Selective Blocking – Selective Blocking is a FREE service that blocks your telephone number from being transmitted and/or seen on Caller ID units on a per call basis. By simply pressing *67 on your touch calling telephone (or by dialing 1167 on a rotary telephone) before placing a call, your telephone number will not be transmitted. Those with Caller ID units who receive your call will see the word "PRIVATE" displayed. Calls to those with Anonymous Call Rejection will receive an announcement informing the caller that the called party will not accept calls from callers who have chosen to block display of their telephone number. If you do not select a blocking option, you

will be assigned Selective Blocking.

If you wish to change your initial blocking option or the blocking option assigned to your telephone, you may do so at any time, free of charge.

Important note: Caller ID blocking may not work on Interstate calls. Also, you cannot block transmission of your telephone number for calls to 9-1-1, 800, 888, 866, 877, 855, or 900 service, regardless of the blocking option you choose. If, for some reason, you want to report an emergency without having your number displayed, you should call the agency's seven-digit number instead of 9-1-1. If the number you are calling from is not equipped with Complete Blocking, you will need to press *67 before you dial the agency's number in order to block your number from being shown (or 1167 on a rotary telephone).

If you have any questions about your choices or how any of these services may impact you and your privacy, please call our toll free number, 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224).

If you do not receive a satisfactory response from us, you may contact the California Public Utilities Commission at:

California Public Utilities Commission Consumer Affairs Branch

505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 2003 San Francisco, California 94102-3298 (Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 4:30 pm) 1-800-649-7570 1-415-703-4973 or TTY at 1-800-229-6846 1-415-703-2032 consumers.cpuc.ca.gov

Blocking of 900 and California 976 Numbers

Calls to 900 and 976 numbers are billed either by the minute or as a flat fee each time you call that number. You can request that your phone be blocked from being able to complete calls to all 900 and 976 numbers by calling CCI at 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224) for residential or business customers. Blocking is free for residential lines. There is a one-time charge of \$5.00 per line to remove blocking from a residential line.

CCI will offer a one-time adjustment of charges for calls to 976 and 900 numbers within California if:

- Calls were made by your minor child without your permission
- You did not authorize the calls
- You were dissatisfied with poor transmission quality, the quality or value of the service, or you dispute the amount billed

 The 900 number service provider did not follow federal regulations

Just notify CCI within 60 days of your bill's statement date by calling the toll-free number on the bill page with the 900 and 976 charges. Failure to pay undisputed 900 or 976 charges will never result in the disconnection of your basic service.

Protect Privacy with 800 Toll Free and 900 Numbers

When you call 900 numbers or toll-free numbers such as 800, 855, 866, 877 and 888, the company you're calling may be able to receive and display your phone number by using an FCC-regulated technology called Automatic Number Identification (ANI). With ANI, there's no way to prevent your number from being identified during these calls. You cannot block your number from being displayed as you can when you call other phone numbers.

What You Need To Know About 9-1-1

When there is a situation that threatens human life or property and demands immediate attention, call 9-1-1. 9-1-1 will reach the fire and rescue, police, Sheriff, Highway Patrol, ambulance, paramedics, Coast Guard, and/or search and rescue.

Do not call 9-1-1 for non-emergencies because it causes delays in the handling of real emergencies. For non-emergency calls, call the non-emergency telephone numbers listed in the telephone directory for the agencies you are trying to reach.

For Telecommunications Devices for the Deaf (TDD/TTY) emergency calls use the Baudot mode only; dial 9-1-1 then tap the space bar until someone answers.

When calling 9-1-1, your telephone number and address may be displayed on a dispatcher's viewing screen, even if you have Caller ID Blocking. This enables the emergency agency to locate you if the call is interrupted. If you do not wish to have your telephone number and address displayed, call the non-emergency number with Caller ID Blocking enabled.

If you need to place an emergency call:

- Make sure that no extension phones are off-hook
- Stay on the line. You may not hear dial tone or ringing immediately. The delay could be as long as a minute or more
- Do not repeatedly depress the switch hook, as this will further delay your call

- If you receive a "fast busy" or "all circuits are busy" recording, hang up and try again later
- If physical damage occurs to CCI's equipment or facilities or to your wiring or equipment, it may not be possible to complete your call

Placing Emergency Calls Only

After a disaster, especially earthquakes, there is usually a high volume of telephone calls. It is important that you limit your calls to emergencies only. Do not call 9-1-1 or the police for confirmation of an earthquake. Listen to your local radio or television station for information.

Out-of-Area Contact

Select a relative or friend out of the immediate area to act as a clearinghouse for information about your family. Once contact is made, have this person relay messages to your other friends and relatives outside the disaster area.

Additional information about 9-1-1, including other emergency numbers and emergency planning information is in the telephone directory.

If you have questions regarding 9-1-1 calling, please call 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224).

What You Need To Know About Service Restoration After Emergencies

CCI maintains a comprehensive Emergency Operations Plan (EOP) serving to provide an efficient and professional response to unforeseen emergency situations, such as: severe weather, flooding, fire, bomb threats to CCI's network, and restoring the loss of telecommunications capabilities as rapidly as possible. In the event of an emergency outage of telecommunications service, the order of restoration will depend upon the extent of the event, and restoral of local service provided by CCI is prioritized to those responsible for public health and welfare in the area involved. The priority of service restoration includes 911, law enforcement agencies, fire departments, ambulance, hospitals, doctors, paramedics, military groups and other such professional services. There is no set order of restoration of local exchange service, however, CCI's EOP team will immediately survey the entire local service area served by CCI and determine where the most service can be restored to CCI customers in the shortest time possible.

Procedures for Disputed Bills

Consumer Rights

If you believe there is an error on your bill or have a question about your service, please call Consolidated Communications customer support, toll free at 1-844-968-7224.

If you are not satisfied with Consolidated Communications' response, submit a complaint to the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) by visiting www.cpuc.ca.gov/complaints/. Billing and service complaints are handled by the CPUC's Consumer Affairs Branch (CAB), which can be reached by the following means if you prefer not to submit your complaint online:

Telephone: 1-800-649-7570 (8:30 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday)

Mail: California Public Utilities Commission, Consumer Affairs Branch, 505 Van Ness Avenue, Room 2003, San Francisco, CA 94102

If you have limitations hearing or speaking, dial 711 to reach the California Relay Service, which is for those needing direct assistance relaying telephone conversations, as well as their friends, family, and business contacts. If you prefer having your calls immediately answered in your mode of communication, dial one of the toll-free language-specific numbers below to be routed to the California Relay Service provider:

Type of Call: TTY/VCO/HCO to Voice

Language: English: 1-800-735-2929

Spanish: 1-800-855-3000

Type of Call: Voice to TTY/VCO/HCO
Language: English: 1-800-735-2922

English: 1-800-735-2922 Spanish: 1-800-855-3000

Type of Call: From or to English/Spanish

English or Spanish: 1-800-854-7787

To avoid having service turned off while you wait for the outcome of a complaint to the CPUC specifically regarding the accuracy of your bill, please contact CAB for assistance. If your case meets the eligibility criteria, CAB will provide you with instructions on how to mail a check or money order to be impounded pending resolution of your case. You must continue to pay your current charges while your complaint is under review to keep your service turned on.

NOTE: The California Public Utilities Commission handles

Language:

complaints of both interstate and intrastate unauthorized carrier changes ("slamming"). The California Public Utilities Commission consumer protection rules are available online, at consumers.cpuc.ca.gov/telcocic/.

Should you question charges imposed by the Federal Communications Commission, (FCC) please direct inquires to:

FCC, Consumer & Government Affairs Bureau Consumer Complaints

445 12th Street, SW Washington, D.C. 20554 1-888-225-5322

or TTY 1-888-835-5322 Internet: www.fcc.gov

Email: fccinfo@fcc.gov Fax: 1-866-418-0232

Protect Your Consumer Rights

Help protect against unsolicited telephone marketing calls and faxes.

State Law (Assembly Bill 2134), effective January 1, 1999, requires every telephone company to provide their customers the following information. Various governmental agencies publish information that generally describes telephone subscribers' rights under state and federal law. This information is available to you by contacting the agencies provided below.

As a consumer, you have rights to privacy and to protect yourself from potential telemarketing fraud, unsolicited sales calls and faxes. The laws apply to live calls, pre-recorded voice calls and artificial (computerized) voice calls.

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has adopted rules and regulations, effective December 20, 1992, implementing the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA). Different rules and regulations apply to calls placed to homes and businesses.

The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) also has telemarketing sales rules, which have been enacted to help protect you as a consumer.

State laws are in place to protect citizens who have had their privacy violated or have been victims of fraudulent telemarketers. The State Attorney General's Office, along with the telemarketing sales rules, has the authority to investigate and prosecute fraudulent telemarketers who operate across state lines.

For more information, contact the following agencies:

Telemarketing & Telephone Services

Federal Trade Commission

Internet: consumer.ftc.gov

Telephone: 1-877-382-4357 or 1-202-326-2222

(TTY) 1-866-653-4261

Write: Federal Trade Commission

600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20580

Telemarketing Consumer Information

Federal Communications Commission

Internet: www.fcc.gov/consumers

Telephone: 1-888-225-5322 or (TTY) 1-888-835-5322

Fax: 1-866-418-0232 Email: fccinfo@fcc.gov

Write: FCC, Consumer Inquiry and Complaints Division

445 12th Street SW Washington, DC 20554

National Do Not Call Registry

To avoid unwanted telemarketing calls, consumers may register online at: www.donotcall.gov or by calling 1-888-382-1222 or (TTY) 1-866-290-4236.

Do Not Call Services & Information

California State Attorney General's Office Internet: www.oag.ca.gov/donotcall

Telephone: 1-800-952-5225 or 1-916-210-6276

Write: Attorney General's Office

California Department of Justice

Attn: Public Inquiry Unit P.O. Box 944255

Sacramento, CA 94244-2550

CCI Inside Wire Policies

This information is provided by CCI as required by the California Public Utilities Commission.

Inside Wire (IW) Definition

Inside Wire consists of all wiring and materials on the customer's side of the demarcation point determined by CCI in accordance with the rules and regulations of the California Public Utilities Commission. The demarcation point is the point where the telephone utility lines enter the building or home (usually at the Standard Network Interface or Protector).

Responsibilities of CCI

- CCI is available to install or repair IW
- CCI will work with you to determine whether a malfunction in a telephone line is located in the IW or in CCI's network
- CCI will inform you of your options if it is determined that the IW is at fault

Responsibilities of the Customer

- You are responsible for reporting malfunctions of the telephone line to CCI
- At the time you make a report, we may request that you perform an isolation test of the IW at the Standard Network Interface
- If you are a tenant (lessee), you should establish an agreement with your landlord regarding repair procedures

Responsibilities of the Building Owner

IW is considered the property of the building owner. If the building owner is a residential landlord (lessor), the building owner is responsible for the following:

- Installing at least one usable telephone jack per residential dwelling
- Placing and maintaining the inside telephone wiring in good working order
- Ensuring that the inside telephone wiring meets the applicable standards of the most recent National Electrical Code as adopted by the Electronic Industry Association
- Making any required repairs
- Establishing a mutual agreement with the tenant for repair reimbursements if applicable

Under state law, residential landlords are responsible for repairs and maintenance of residential inside telephone wire. Tenants are not responsible for these types of repairs and maintenance.

Trouble Isolation Procedures

Telephone repair reports may be made to CCI by dialing 611. When calling from outside of the Consolidated Communications CA service territory, dial 1-888-639-1611. A Standard Network Interface (SNI) device may have been installed at the demarcation point. This device allows you to determine if the trouble is caused by your equipment, IW, or CCI's network.

If the premises <u>are equipped</u> with an SNI, CCI will advise you to unplug the IW at the SNI and plug a phone known to be in

working order into the SNI.

- If the phone doesn't work at the SNI, the trouble is assumed to be in the CCI network, and CCI will arrange for repair as soon as possible at no charge
- You will also be advised that if you decline to perform the test at the SNI, CCI will perform the test upon your request by dispatching a repair technician to your premises. If the trouble turns out to be in your IW, you will be charged \$49.95 during regular business hours, for the time spent performing the test.

If the premises <u>are not equipped</u> with an SNI and the IW cannot be separated from the CCI's equipment at the demarcation point, CCI will perform the test at no charge.

CCI OFFERS IW MAINTENANCE AS FOLLOWS: As a Monthly Maintenance Plan

A maintenance plan is available at a rate of \$3.95 per month for each residential line. The monthly rate covers simple inside wiring maintenance work performed on or at the premises by CCI at your request. (Simple inside wiring does not include repair of substandard or inside wire which connects station components to each other or to common equipment of a PBX or key system.)

- You may subscribe to the Monthly Maintenance Plan only at a time when your simple inside wire is in working condition; and
- Subscription to the Monthly Maintenance Plan becomes effective with the installation due date of the service connection for new service or, with established service, five (5) days subsequent to the request of the service.

The plan will not cover repairs if: (1) it is determined that the inside wire was not in working condition at the time of the initial request for service; or (2) repair or part replacements are required because of obvious neglect, willful misuse, tampering, alterations not performed by CCI, or the use of substandard wiring (wiring not meeting Electronics Industry Alliance/Telecommunications Industry Association Code).

Or on a Time and Material (T&M) Case-by-Case Basis

 Labor charges apply to inside wire repair work performed at your premises by CCI at your request. The labor charge includes work preparation, the travel time to and from your premises, the isolation of the trouble reported, the actual work, and cleanup. Charges for materials may apply in addition to the labor charge.

Labor Rates are as follows:

 Service fee for each occurrence includes the first 15 minutes or fraction thereof to isolate the reported trouble.

\$49.95

Each quarter hour or fraction thereof:

 During Normal Business Hours (Monday-Sunday 8 am to 6:30 pm):

\$19.00

Overtime and premium rates apply after 6:30 pm and on holidays observed by CCI.

Non-Plan Maintenance:

If it is determined that the problem is with the inside wire, there are several options:

As a customer or tenant (lessee):

- You may do your own repair work
- You may hire someone to do the repair work for a fee
- You may hire CCI to do the repair work for a fee. Dial 611 or 1-888-639-1611 when dialing from outside of the Consolidated Communications CA service territory

If you are a residential tenant (lessee) and the trouble is in the IW, be advised that under California law, the landlord (lessor) is responsible for the installation and maintenance of one usable jack per dwelling and all of the inside wire. You should contact your landlord before authorizing repairs to your inside wiring. If you authorize repair work from CCI, you will be billed the appropriate repair charges and will be responsible for payment.

As a landlord (lessor):

- You may do your own repair work
- You may hire someone to do the repair work for a fee
- You may hire CCI for a fee

Other Vendors Also Offer IW Services

Other vendors also offer services in the CCI service area. Please consult the classified ads in your local newspaper or telephone directory.

If you wish to have further information regarding our Inside Wire Policies, please call our business offices:

Residence: 916-786-6161 Business: 916-786-7600

Battery Backup Reminder

If you receive Consolidated Communications (CCI) telephone service over our Fiber to the Premises (FTTP) network, it is important to note this very reliable network differs from CCI's more traditional copper wire based network in one key way: If electrical power is lost at your home, your voice telephone service will not work and you will not be able to dial 911 in an emergency unless you have a working backup power source.

When CCI installed your telephone service using the FTTP network, a Backup Power Unit (BPU) may have been installed at your home. Please keep in mind that, while a BPU with a functioning battery in place will allow you to continue to use your CCI FTTP voice service for a limited time during a power outage, the BPU will not power cordless phones, devices used to assist with disabilities, or other medical devices, and these devices will not work in the event of a power outage.

It is your responsibility to ensure that proper batteries have been put in place for the BPU and other devices to ensure their operation during a power outage.

You are also responsible for the monitoring, testing and management of the BPU and associated battery. Therefore, it is very important that you familiarize yourself with the lights on the unit to ensure you have backup power if it is needed. For additional information, please visit us online at www.consolidated.com/batterybackup or call 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224).

Customer Care

Call Center Hours: Monday-Friday 7 am – 6 pm Saturday 7 am – 3:30 pm Sunday - closed

New Service Requests/Changes in Existing Service 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224) or consolidated.com

Billing Inquires 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224)

Bill Payment

Customers may pay their bill by using the following options:

 mailing the payment to the Company address on the remittance slip attached to the monthly invoice;

- making a payment via the Company's website (www.consolidated.com) by either enrolling for recurring payments or making a one-time payment
- making on-line payments via the Customer's banking institution
- making a payment at an authorized major local retailer such as Wal-Mart or CVS Pharmacy (a service fee by the retailer may be applied)
- making a payment via the phone either through a live agent of the Company or via the Company's automated Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system by calling 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224)

When customers choose to make a payment via the phone either through a live agent of the Company or via the Company's automated IVR system, the customer may be charged a \$1.00 Convenience Fee.

Visit our Web site at consolidated.com or for more information call 1-844-YOUR-CCI (1-844-968-7224)

Payment Arrangements

916-786-1137 or 1-800-232-4020 24-Hour Automated 1-800-640-9549

Repair Service

24-Hour Service: 611[‡] or 1-888-639-1611 [‡]When calling from within CCI's service territory

Alternate language support, provided by an outside translation bureau, is available upon request for non-English speaking customers of CCI.

Consolidated communications

PO Box 619969 Roseville, CA 95661-0969

PRSRT STD
U.S. POSTAGE
PAID
SACREMENTO, CA
PERMIT NO. 573