
GENERAL ORDER NO. 115-G 
(Supersedes General Order No. 115-F) 
 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

RULES REQUIRING ALL CHARTER-PARTY CARRIERS OF PASSENGERS 
SUBJECT TO THE PUBLIC UTILITIES CODE TO PROVIDE AND THEREAFTER 
CONTINUE IN EFFECT ADEQUATE PROTECTION AGAINST LIABILITY IMPOSED 
BY LAW UPON SUCH CARRIERS FOR THE PAYMENT OF DAMAGES FOR 
PERSONAL BODILY INJURIES (INCLUDING DEATH RESULTING THEREFROM) 
AND DAMAGE TO OR DESTRUCTION OF PROPERTY. 

Adopted August 18, 2016 
Effective August 18, 2016 (Resolution TL-19122) 
Amended March 21, 2024 (Resolution TL-19147) 

 
(1) Each charter-party carrier of passengers, as defined in the Public Utilities Code, shall 

electronically file its insurance policies under the insurance electronic filing requirements 
established for passenger and household carriers, to provide and thereafter continue in effect, 
so long as it may engage in conducting such operations, adequate protection against liability 
imposed by law upon such carriers for the payment of damages for personal bodily injuries 
(including death resulting therefrom) and for damage to or destruction of property, other than 
property being transported by such carrier for any shipper or consignee, whether the property 
of one or more than one claimant, in amounts not less than the amounts set forth in the 
following schedule: 

 
Vehicle Seating Capacity (including the driver) Amount of Coverage 
Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 16 persons or more $5,000,000 
Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 9 through 15 persons $1,500,000 
Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 8 persons or less $750,000 

 
EXCEPT: 

Any vehicle operated under a Class C Certificate as defined by 
P.U. Code Section 5383 

Amount of Coverage 
$750,000 

 
AND: 

Any vehicle operated under a Class P Certificate specific to 
transportation network companies, as defined by P.U. Code 
Section 5431(a): 

Amount of Coverage 
 

Any vehicle operating under P.U. Code Section 5433(b)(1) $1,000,000 for bodily injury 
and property damage 

Any vehicle operating under P.U. Code Section 5433(b)(2) $1,000,000 for uninsured and 
underinsured motorist 
coverage 



Any vehicle operating under P.U. Code Section 5433(c) $50,000 for bodily injury (per 
person) 
 
and $100,000 for bodily 
injury (per incident);  
 
and $30,000 for property 
damage; and $200,000 excess 
coverage 

 
AND: 

Any contract crew transportation vehicle as defined by P.U. 
Code Section 5384.3 

Amount of Coverage 
$5,000,000 

 

(2) The protection herein required shall be provided in one of the following ways: 
(a) By a certificate or certificates of public liability insurance and property damage insurance 

in a form approved by the Commission, issued by a company, or companies, licensed to 
write such insurance in the State of California, or by non-admitted insurers subject to 
Section 1763 of the Insurance Code. 

(b) By an original bond, or bonds, issued by a surety company, or companies, permitted to 
write surety bonds in the State of California. 

(c) By a certificate of insurance issued by a special lines' surplus line broker licensed as 
such in this State. 

(d) By any other plan of protection for the public approved as hereinafter required. 
(e) By a plan of self-insurance approved as hereinafter required. 
(f) By a combination of two or more of the foregoing methods. 

 
(3) The certificate of insurance or bond evidencing such protection hereinabove required shall 

not be cancelable on less than thirty days' notice to the Public Utilities Commission, such 
notice to commence to run from the date the notice is actually received by the Commission. 
 

(4) The Commission will give consideration to and may approve the application of a charter-
party carrier of passengers to qualify as a self-insurer provided such charter-party carrier of 
passengers files an application with the Commission supported by a true and accurate 
statement of its financial condition and other evidence which will establish to the satisfaction 
of the Commission the ability of such charter- party carrier of passengers to satisfy its 
obligations for public liability and property damage within the limits hereinabove prescribed, 
without affecting the stability and permanency of the business of such charter-party carrier of 
passengers. 
 

(5) The Commission will also consider applications for approval of other securities or 
agreements of indemnity and may approve any such applications if satisfied that the security 
or agreement of indemnity offered will afford the security for the protection of the public 
hereinabove contemplated. 

 



(6) Any charter-party carrier of passengers engaged in interstate or intrastate operations within 
the State of California, which is and becomes qualified as a self-insurer with the Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Administration promulgated thereunder, shall be exempt, so long as 
such qualification remains effective, from the foregoing provisions of this General Order. 
Proof of the existence and continuation of such exempt status shall be filed with the 
Commission annually. Such proof of such qualification shall be filed in such form and at 
such times as the Commission may require. 

 
(7) Each charter-party carrier of passengers desiring to become qualified as a self-insurer, or to 

have orders or certificates issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration 
authorizing self-insurance accepted by this Commission, or to have other securities or 
agreements of indemnity accepted in lieu of the bond or insurance hereinabove provided, 
shall make application therefore to this Commission stating all of the facts which shall be 
required by the Commission with respect thereto. If such application is approved, such 
charter-party carrier of passengers, while such order of approval shall remain effective, shall 
be exempt from furnishing a certificate of insurance or bond hereinabove provided. 

 
(8) Every insurance certificate, surety bond, or equivalent protection to the public shall contain 

a provision that such certificate, surety bond, or equivalent protection shall remain in full 
force and effect until cancelled in the manner provided by Section (3) of this General Order. 

 
(9) The cancellation or suspension of a policy of insurance or surety bond or the cancellation, 

suspension, or surrender of a certificate of self-insurance issued by this Commission or the 
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, or the impairment or destruction of any 
security, or the cancellation or termination of any agreement or indemnity, or the alteration 
(without first obtaining Commission authorization) of any agreement of indemnity, shall 
constitute good cause for suspension or revocation of the operating authority of the affected 
charter-party carrier of passengers. No operation shall be conducted on any highway of the 
State of California unless a certificate of insurance, certificate of self-insurance coverage, 
bond, or the other securities or agreements of indemnity hereinabove specified, shall be in 
effect and on file with the Commission. 

 
Approved and dated at San Francisco, California, this 21st day of March, 2024. 

 
 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION  
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

 
 

By: RACHEL PETERSON 
Executive Director 

 


