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California Guide to Going Solar – What You Need to Know 

              
[this photo is a placeholder: photo or graphic will be printable in black and white] 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
 
> To see if you qualify for low-income solar programs, go to page X. 
 
>  For visually impaired individuals, or for anyone who prefers to hear this guide read aloud, 
an audio recording of this guide is available at XXX-XXX-XXXX. 
 

                    July 2019                                                                
[date to be updated annually] 

The California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) created this guide to 
provide objective information to homeowners interested in rooftop solar. 

The CPUC is a government agency that oversees the solar programs of 
private energy utilities. 

This packet guides consumers through issues to consider when going solar, 
such as choosing a qualified contractor and solar financing. 

Please take at least 48 hours to review this packet before signing a contract 
for a solar system. 

For more information on this guide, please visit: xxxxx 
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Know Your Rights 

 
As a California resident, you are entitled to certain rights to protect you during the solar sales process.  

 

  #1:     YOUR RIGHT TO A 3-DAY CANCELLATION PERIOD AFTER SIGNING A CONTRACT 

By law, after you sign a solar contract, you have up to three days to cancel your contract.  You may 
cancel the contract by emailing, mailing, faxing or delivering a written notice to the solar provider at 
their place of business by midnight of the third business day after you received a signed, dated copy of 
the contract. Include your name, your address, and the date you received the signed copy of the 
contract. If your solar provider refuses to cancel the contract, report them to the Contractors State 
License Board (CSLB) here. 

 

        #2:     YOUR RIGHT TO PUT DOWN NO MORE THAN $1,000 OR 10% OF CONTRACT PRICE 

By law, you are not obligated to pay more than $1,000 or 10% of the contract price, whichever is less, 
as a down payment.1 
 

                         #3:     YOUR RIGHT TO A SOLAR DISCLOSURE DOCUMENT 

By law, a solar provider must fill out a Solar Energy System Disclosure Document created by the 
Contractors State License Board. This document provides you with key information about the proposed 
solar system, such as total costs over time. See this document here. 
 

                        #4:     YOUR RIGHT TO A STANDARDIZED ELECTRICTY BILL SAVINGS ESTIMATE 

By law, you are entitled to receive an electricity bill savings estimate from a solar provider based on a 
standardized set of inputs developed by the California Public Utilities Commission here.      
                                   [this bullet is a placeholder until AB 1070 (Gonzalez Fletcher, 2017) is implemented] 
 

                        #5:    YOUR RIGHT TO READ THIS GUIDE AND SOLAR ENERGY SYSTEM DISCLOSURE DOCUMENT  
                                  BEFORE SIGNING A CONTRACT 

 
If you are a Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E), Southern California Edison (SCE), or San Diego Gas & 
Electric (SDG&E) customer, a solar provider must share these documents with you and get your 
signature to confirm that you received and read them before you sign a contract. 

 
 

CUSTOMER INITIALS HERE ____ 

                                                             
1 Note there are exceptions if the contractor has an approved blanket performance bond on file with the CSLB, which can sometimes apply to larger 
companies. 
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Beware of Solar Scams and Misleading Sales Tactics  
 

• There is no such thing as a free solar system. The California Government does not give out 
free solar, and the California Government does not require you to put solar on your home. 

 

• You should not be asked to sign a contract, especially on an electronic tablet, without first 
being allowed to read the contract terms. California law requires that salespeople give you 
the opportunity to read the contract before signing.  Salespeople should not pressure you 
to sign a contract on your first encounter or at any time during the sales process.  

 
 

• Salespeople should not promise you that after going solar you won’t pay an electric bill. 
This is false. Depending on your situation, you will still pay a monthly bill or one total bill at 
the end of the year.  
 

 
• The average size of a residential solar system is between four and five kilowatts (kW).  If the 

system size proposed by your contractor differs greatly from this, ask for an explanation. 
 
 
 

If you think you have been a victim of solar fraud, report the incident to the Contractors 
State License Board (CSLB) at X or X. 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 

CUSTOMER INITIALS HERE _____ 
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Consumer Checklist 
Make sure to ask a Solar Provider these questions BEFORE you sign a contract. 

 
Company Background 
� What is your Contractors State License Board (CSLB) license number, and can you provide proof of your 

valid license with the CSLB? 
� Will you subcontract to another company to install the solar system? If so, what is their CSLB number? 
� Can you provide me with three references? 
� How long have you been in business? How many installations have you installed? 

 
Solar System Design 
� Why did you choose this specific design and size? If another solar provider’s design/size is different, ask 

why they differ. 
� Does my roof need to be replaced before installing solar panels? How much will that cost, and who will do 

it?  What steps will you take to ensure my roof won’t leak? 
 

Solar Financing      
� What is the total cost of the solar system? 
� How much will I pay up front, how much over time, and for how long? 
 

          Questions for solar systems that will be purchased with a loan: 
� What is the interest rate and how many years will the financing agreement last? 
� Will I have to make a down payment?  If so, how much? 

        Questions for leases and power purchase agreements: 
� What is the length of the lease or power purchase agreement contract term? 
� Will my payments increase over time? How much will they increase, and how frequently? 
� Is there an option to make a down payment to reduce my monthly payments (for a lease) or 

kilowatt hour rate (for a power purchase agreement)? 
� What happens if I wish to end the lease or power purchase agreement early? Will I owe a balloon 

payment and/or an early termination fee? If so, how much will I owe? 
� How does a lease or power purchase agreement affect the ability to sell my home? 
� Who has the right to claim the environment benefits of the power generated by my system? 
� What happens if I need to replace my roof during the contract term? 

       Questions for Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) financing: 
� How much will I owe when I pay my mortgage or property taxes?  
� How many times a year will I owe this payment? 
� What happens if I want to refinance my home? Is there anything I have to do with the mortgage 

company? 
� Will a lien be placed on my property if I do not pay on time? How does a lien impact my ability to 

sell my home? 
� Who do I contact if I have problems making my PACE repayments? 
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Estimated Electric Bill Savings  
**Please beware of a solar provider that tells you solar is free—it is not. See p.X for info on solar scams.** 
� What are the total estimated electric bill savings in the first year based on the standardized inputs 

developed by the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC)? 
� Have you presented me with electric bill savings based on your own company model? Why does that 

calculation differ from the CPUC estimate? 
� What assumption did you use for how much my utility’s electric rates would increase each year? If it’s 

larger than X%, can you explain why?  [this section is a placeholder until AB 1070 is implemented] 

 
Warranties and Performance of Solar System 
� Are there warranties for the panels and inverters? If so, how long do they last and who do I contact to 

replace these components?  
� Are there warranties for labor/construction?  Is there a roof warranty (if the roof is being replaced)?  
� Are repairs and maintenance included in the contract? Who should I contact for repairs? 
� Will I be able to monitor the performance of the system once it’s installed? If so, how? 
� Does the solar provider offer a minimum energy guarantee (common with leases/power purchase 

agreements)? If so, how will I be compensated if the system does not produce as much energy as promised 
in the contract? 

� Is there an insurance policy that comes with the solar system, or do I need to take out additional 
homeowner’s insurance? 

� What are my obligations under the contract in the event that the solar system stops working due to a 
disaster like an earthquake or a fire? 

 
Timeline for Installation and Interconnection 
� When do you propose to start and finish installing solar on my roof? 
� After installation is complete, how long do you estimate it will take for my utility to interconnect my 

system to the grid? 

 
Impacts on the Sale of Your Home 
� How will a solar system impact the home sale or refinancing of my property? 
� How much will it cost to remove and re-install the panels if I need to replace my roof when selling my 

home, including inspection fees? 
 

      Questions for leases and power purchase agreements: 
� What happens if the home buyer doesn’t want the solar system or doesn’t qualify to take on my 

solar lease or power purchase agreement?  
� Are there fees if I need to terminate the contract early to sell my house?  
� Are there fees for transferring the power purchase agreement or lease agreement to a new 

homeowner?  

 
CUSTOMER INITIALS HERE _____ 
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The Solar Energy System Disclosure Document and Solar Contract:  

What You Need to Know 
 
Solar Energy System Disclosure Document 

• The Solar Energy System Disclosure Document is a standardized document created by the Contractors 
State License Board (CSLB). By law, a solar provider must give you a Solar Energy System Disclosure 
Document before asking you to sign a contract.  

• This document contains key information, such as the total amount to be paid over the proposed contract 
term and proposed system size.  

• A solar provider should conduct a home site visit and shading study before filling out the Solar Energy 
System Disclosure Document. 

• You can see a blank version of the document here or by calling here. After you receive a Solar Energy 
System Disclosure Document, make sure to save it for future reference. 

 
Solar Contract 

• The solar contract—not the Solar Energy System Disclosure Document—is the legally binding document 
between you and your solar provider. Make sure to read it carefully. 

• If you saw important information in the Solar Energy System Disclosure Document that is not referenced in 
the contract, ask your contractor to include it in the contract. 

• Make sure everything you were promised is written in the contract, such as answers to questions in the 
consumer checklist. 

• Any additional services besides basic solar installation should be separate line items in the contract price. 
• Save your contract, as well as the name of all companies involved in the transaction. This information will 

be useful if you sell your home, need to replace your roof, or have any repair/maintenance issues.  
• Be aware that you have a three-day right to cancel a contract after you sign. See the Know Your Rights 

section for details. 

 
[this page is a placeholder until supporting information for the Solar Energy System Disclosure Document is produced at 

the CSLB’s discretion pursuant to sub paragraph (c) of Business and Professions Code section 7169.] 

 
 
 

CUSTOMER INITIALS HERE _____ 
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Additional Information 
 
Starting on page X, you will find more detailed information on going solar.  The California Public Utilities 
Commission recommends that you take at least 48 hours to review these additional pages before signing on 
the next page. 
 

The additional information includes the following topics: 

 
-How to Select a Solar Provider        page X 
-Role of Your Utility Versus Solar Provider       page X 
-Before Going Solar, Make Your Home Energy Efficient      page X 
-Low-Income Solar Programs         page X 
-Solar Financing Options         page X 
-Electricity Bill Savings Estimates - What You Need to Know     page X  
-Net Energy Metering: Explained        page X   
-Combining Solar With Storage and Electric Vehicles     page X 
-Additional Resources          page X 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CUSTOMER INITIALS HERE _____ 
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Signature Page 

 
Have you read at least the first 5 sections of this consumer guide carefully?  

 
These sections contain important information on your rights and how to avoid solar scams. 

 
The California Public Utilities Commission also recommends that you take 48 hours to read 

and understand the entire X-page solar consumer guide before signing below. 
 

 

Customer 

Ø I have received and read the California Guide to Going Solar – What You Need to Know before I signed a 
contract with __[print solar provider name]___ for the purchase, lease, power purchase agreement (PPA), or 
PACE-financing of a solar energy system.  I initialed the first five sections of this document. 

_______________________________  ________________________________      ___________ 

Customer Name     Signature                 Date 

 

Solar Provider2  

Ø I provided _____[print customer name]____ with the California Guide to Going Solar – What You Need to Know 
before the customer entered into a contract with my company ___[print solar provider name]____ for the 
purchase, lease, power purchase agreement (PPA), or PACE-financing of a solar energy system.  

Ø I provided the customer this guide in the same language as the sales presentation.  
Ø I provided the customer sufficient time to read the entire document, and the customer initialed the first 

five sections.  

______________________________   ________________________________     ___________ 

Solar Provider      Signature             Date 

 

Ø What language was principally used in the sales presentation given to the customer? 

______________________________________________ 
 

                                                             
2 A solar provider is defined by law in CPUC Decision (D.) 18-09-044 as a vendor, contractor, installer, or financing entity that enters into a contract for a power 
purchase agreement, lease, or purchased solar system. Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E), Southern California Edison (SCE), and San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) 
require solar providers to upload a signed copy of this page to their interconnection portals before interconnecting the customer to the electric grid. See this link to 
read the regulation that established the legal requirements for this signature page. 
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How to Select a Solar Provider 
 

Finding a qualified solar provider is key to getting a productive solar system at an affordable price. Much like 
buying or leasing a car, it’s worth taking the time up front to compare your options before making this long-
term investment. Below are recommendations to help you find a reputable solar provider. 

 

Step One Get Bids From At Least Three Solar Providers 

• There are websites, like EnergySage at link, that allow you to compare bids from pre-qualified installers 
in your area.  

• Go to www.CaliforniaDGStats.ca.gov, a government-funded website, to enter your zip code and see a 
list of contractors and their recent installation costs.  

• Ask a trusted community-based group, or friends and neighbors, for companies they recommend. Ask 
for specifics: Did the contractor produce high quality work? Did the company provide reliable customer 
service? 

• Look for companies that employ installers certified by the North American Board of Certified Energy 
Practitioners (NABCEP). 

• Note that the best system for you is not necessarily the cheapest system. A very low bid may indicate 
that a contractor is trying to cut corners.  

 

Step Two  Do Research on the Solar Provider You Consider 

• First, make sure contractors you consider have a valid license from the Contractors State License Board 
(CSLB). It is illegal for contractors to install solar without one. 

o Go the CSLB website here or call X to make sure the contractor has a current and valid license. 
o If a contractor gave you a bid without a license or the license is revoked, cancelled, or 

suspended, please report them to the CSLB here or call X. 
• Ask the solar provider for three references – and call the references. 
• Find out how long the company has been in business.  
• Check reviews of the contractor through websites like the Better Business Bureau, EnergySage, Yelp, 

Angie’s List, or other customer review sites.  
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Role of Your Utility Versus Solar Provider 

 
Electric Utility 
When it comes to rooftop solar, utilities are mainly responsible for two tasks: 

1) interconnecting your solar system to the grid, and  
2) providing you with electricity bill credits for exported solar energy (see p. X for more details). 

 
There are many electric utilities throughout California and their programs can vary. Check your utility’s 
website for more details on its solar program. If you aren’t sure what utility serves you, check for a logo and 
contact information on your electric bill. Links to some utility solar programs are on p. X. 
 
Solar Provider 
Solar providers are the companies that sell you solar and install the solar system on your home. A solar 
provider usually submits all the required paperwork to your utility on your behalf. Sometimes solar providers 
provide financing directly in the contract. Solar providers must be licensed by the Contractors State License 
Board. 

 
Typical Steps to Going Solar 

Steps Tasks Who Is 
Responsible 

Step 1 Get multiple bids and research solar providers  Customer 
Step 2 Fill out Solar Energy System Disclosure Document Solar Provider 
Step 3 Review Solar Energy System Disclosure Document  Customer 
Step 4 Write up solar contract  Solar Provider  
Step 5 Write up financing agreement Solar Provider 

and/or Lender 
Step 6 Sign the Solar Energy System Disclosure Document, solar contract and 

financing agreement 
Customer 

Step 7 Submit application to utility to interconnect solar system to grid Solar Provider 
Step 8 Apply for building permit with city or county agency   Solar Provider 
Step 9 Inspect home for building permit compliance City or County 

Inspector 
Step 10 Install the solar system Solar Provider 
Step 11  Submit city/county inspection approval to utility  Solar Provider 
Step 12 Inspect home for interconnection/meter compliance Utility 
Step 13 Turn system on after receiving written approval from utility   Customer 
Step 14 Send first solar electricity bill to customer Utility 
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Before Going Solar, Make Your Home Energy Efficient 

 
Making your home energy efficient before going solar is an essential first step. By decreasing your overall 
energy use before going solar, you could reduce the size of the solar system you need, potentially saving 
thousands of dollars. Taking energy-saving actions has the double bonus of lowering your energy bills. 
 
Steps to Conserve Energy at Your Home 
 
Home Energy Assessment 

A home energy assessment is a good way to start. Some utilities offer information and tools through your 
online account that help you assess, manage, and improve your energy use. You could save 5%–30% on your 
energy bills by making the efficiency improvements that are identified. Some utilities also offer in-person 
home energy assessments for qualifying low-income households through the Energy Savings Assistance 
Program. See here for more details. 
 
Tips to Make Your Home Energy Efficient  
Did you know that using a programmable thermostat can save you up to 10% on annual heating and cooling 
costs? Or that you can save up to $75 each year by replacing your home’s five most frequently used light bulbs 
with ENERGY STAR-rated light bulbs? See the Energy Upgrade California website here for simple energy 
efficiency tips on lighting, heating, air conditioning, insulation, and appliances that can save you money and 
make your home more comfortable. 
 
Shift Electricity Use to Lower-Priced Times of Day 
Many customers in California are required to switch to a “time-of-use” rate when they go solar. A time-of-use 
rate will charge different prices for energy depending upon the time of day. Prices are typically higher 
between 4:00pm and 9:00pm, called “peak” hours, and lower the rest of the day and at night during “off 
peak” hours. Take advantage of the opportunity to save money on a time-of-use rate by shifting energy-
consuming activities to off peak hours, like running your laundry or dishwasher overnight.  See more details 
here. 
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Low-Income Solar Programs 

 
Below you will find a list of solar programs available to eligible low-income customers who receive electric bills 
from Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E), Southern California Edison (SCE), or San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E). If 
you currently receive a discounted electric bill through the California Alternate Rates for Energy (CARE) 
program, you are likely to qualify for these programs.  If you receive an electric bill from a utility other than 
the ones listed above, call your utility or check their website to see if any low-income solar options are 
available.  
 
SASH Program 
The SASH Program, which stands for “Single-family Affordable Solar Homes Program,” is a program that 
provides solar incentives for qualifying low-income homeowners who live in affordable single-family housing. 
The program provides rebates for rooftop solar that can save families up to 90% on electricity bills. The 
nonprofit organization “Grid Alternatives” runs the program. See here for more information on eligibility and 
how to sign up. 
 
There is also a new SASH program called “DAC-SASH” that is designed for low-income homeowners that live in 
disadvantaged communities (DAC) impacted by high pollution rates and poor health conditions. Homeowners 
do not need to live in a home defined as affordable to qualify. See eligibility requirements here. 

     [this paragraph is a placeholder until program implemented] 
 
DAC Green Tariff Program 
The DAC Green Tariff Program allows qualifying low-income households in disadvantaged communities to 
receive 50-100% of their electricity from solar generation located throughout California, plus a 20% discount 
on electricity bills. In this program, you do not have to install solar on your roof to go solar, which is a great 
option if your home has an older roof or if you want a quick, hassle-free way to go solar. See more info here. 
       [this section is a placeholder until program implemented] 
 
Community Solar Green Tariff Program 
The Community Solar Green Tariff Program allows qualifying low-income households in disadvantaged 
communities to subscribe to a solar array within 5 miles of their home and receive a 20% discount on 
electricity bills. This program is similar to the DAC Green Tariff Program but with a stronger community focus. 
See more info here.     [this section is a placeholder until program implemented] 
 
TIP: 

Ø Check to see if you qualify for the Energy Savings Assistance Program, which helps low-income homeowners 
make energy-efficient improvements to their home, a smart thing to do before going solar. See here. 
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Solar Financing Options 
 

Purchase With a Solar Loan  
You can purchase a solar system outright from an approved contractor or manufacturer with a solar loan or 
cash. In this approach, you own the installed system. Since most systems cost between $10,000 to $35,000, 
most homeowners that purchase a system take out a solar loan instead of paying in cash. Secured 
loans require an asset that will serve as collateral for the loan – in most cases, that asset is your home, similar 
to a home equity loan. Unsecured loans do not require any collateral other than the solar panel system. 
Typically, a secured loan is preferred because it is tax deductible and has lower interest rates. 

Many solar contractors work with lenders that offer solar loans, but you should check with banks and credit 
unions as well. Compare offers to make sure you are being offered a reasonable interest rate. Since you will be 
responsible for any maintenance and repairs, also make sure the brand and models of all components (panels 
and inverters) are included in your contract. 

If you purchase and start installing a solar system before December 31, 2021, you are also eligible for a federal 
solar investment tax credit (ITC) between 22% and 30%.  If you have questions about the ITC or whether a loan 
is tax deductible, speak to a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) for tax advice. If you own your solar system, you 
may include the system in the house sale just like any other major home component. 

Lease 
With a lease, the solar company owns the system on your property and “rents” it to you for a set period of 
time. In this scenario, a contractor will install the solar system on your home at little or no cost, and you will 
make scheduled monthly payments in exchange for all the electricity the system produces. A typical lease is 
15-25 years. If you sell your house before the lease is up, you will have to buy out the lease from the solar 
provider or transfer the lease to the new property owner. Make sure you understand the specific contract 
terms. 

Monthly payments will typically increase every year based on an “escalation clause” or “escalator.”  It’s very 
important to make sure the escalator in your contract is reasonable, typically in the range of 1 to 3%. See the 
next section on Electric Bill Savings Estimates for more information. There are also different ways to arrange a 
lease, such as paying more upfront to reduce your monthly payments. 
 
Power Purchase Agreement 
In a Power Purchase Agreement, a solar company owns and installs a solar system on your home at little or no 
cost and sells you the electricity it generates. Power Purchase Agreements are similar to solar leases, except 
that instead of making a fixed monthly payment for the system, you pay a fixed per-kilowatt-hour (kWh) rate, 
which should be competitive with your utility rate. If you sell your house before the Power Purchase 
Agreement contract term ends, you will have to buy out the Power Purchase Agreement from the solar 
provider or transfer the Power Purchase Agreement to the new property owner. Make sure you understand 
the specific contract terms. 
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If you decide on a Power Purchase Agreement, you will enter into a long-term contract with a solar provider. 
The contract will specify the kWh rate you will pay in the first year and every year going forward.  Rates per 
kWh typically increase over time based on an “escalation clause” or “escalator.”  It’s very important to make 
sure the escalator in your contract is reasonable, typically in the range of 1 to 3%. See the next section on 
Electric Bill Savings Estimates on p. X for more information. 
 
PACE (Property Assessed Clean Energy) 
PACE is a financing option that is available in some areas of California. In a PACE financing arrangement, a 
PACE program financer lends you money to cover the upfront costs of a solar system, which you then pay back 
through an assessment on your property tax bill.  PACE financing lasts for a fixed term, typically around 10-20 
years. If you sell your property before you have paid off the PACE loan, the remainder of the loan is likely to 
transfer to the new owner since PACE financing is attached to the property.  

Unlike solar leases and Power Purchase Agreements that require monthly payments, PACE loan payments are 
typically due once or twice a year. Given this unique arrangement, it’s important to understand how much you 
will owe and when, so that you can set aside money throughout the year to cover the amount. If your home is 
mortgaged and you typically pay your taxes with an escrow or impound account, your mortgage company may 
be involved in handling these payments. Solar companies are required by law to provide you a PACE-specific 
disclosure form with key information about the financing arrangement, which can be found here. 

 

 
Financing Options: Pros & Cons  

Solar Financing Options Pros Cons 
Purchase with solar 
loan 

• Typically greater return on investment 
• May increase value of home 
• You can directly receive tax credits and 

deductions 

• You are responsible for repairs and 
maintenance, which may involve contacting 
different manufacturers  

• You take on risk of any production shortfalls 
unless a guarantee is offered by 
contractor/manufacturer 

Lease and Power 
Purchase Agreement 

• Little or no upfront costs 
• Typically solar provider is responsible for all 

monitoring, maintenance and repairs 
• Minimum energy production often 

guaranteed  

• Selling home is more complicated than 
straight purchase approach, since new 
owner must agree to take on the 
lease/agreement or you must buy out the 
lease/agreement 

PACE • Little or no upfront costs 
• Available to homeowners in eligible cities and 

counties who do not have access to good loan 
options  

• If you do not pay on time, you risk a PACE 
lien on your property 

• You are responsible for repairs and 
maintenance, which may involve contacting 
different manufacturers  
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Electric Bill Savings Estimates—What You Need to Know 

 
 
1) A solar salesperson must present you with a bill savings estimate based on standardized inputs.  

• According to California law, a solar company must present you with an electric bill savings estimate 
based on inputs determined by the California Public Utilities Commission. 

• This standardized savings estimate will be included in your Solar Energy System Disclosure Document—
don’t hesitate to ask a solar salesperson to walk you through it.  

• See here to look at the Solar Energy System Disclosure Document form, and see page X to learn more 
about this document.  

[this section is a placeholder until AB 1070 is implemented and supporting information for the Solar 
Energy System Disclosure Document is produced at the CSLB’s discretion pursuant to sub paragraph (c) of 
Business and Professions Code section 7169]. 

 

 
2) For leases and Power Purchase Agreements, watch out for unreasonable “escalators” and balloon  
     payments. 

• Even though a solar provider must present you with a standardized electric bill savings estimate, they 
may also choose to show you an estimate based on their own data.  

o If you are considering signing a lease or power purchase agreement, you should watch out for 
unreasonable “escalators” in these estimates. An escalator means that your monthly lease or 
Power Purchase Agreement payments will go up every year to account for inflation and electric 
utility rate increases. 

o According to data from the U.S. Energy Information Administration, California residential 
electricity prices have increased 2.5% a year on average over the past 10 years. If a solar 
company is assuming that utility electricity prices will increase by significantly more than that, 
your savings estimate could be inflated.  

o Be cautious of entering into leases or Power Purchase Agreements with escalators higher than 
3%. 

• Check for hidden fees, like balloon payments or early termination fees, that could considerably reduce 
your overall savings.  A balloon payment is when you must make a large one-time payment if you move 
and the new owner doesn’t take on the lease or Power Purchase Agreement. Be aware of these types 
of fees in the contract and ask the solar contractor how you can reduce your risk. 
 

 

3) Bill savings estimates are not a guarantee. 
• There are many uncertain factors that go into a bill savings estimate. These factors include the 

estimated production of the solar system (based on the system size, shading of your roof, etc.), your 
forecast electricity use, and future utility rates. A bill savings estimate does not guarantee that you will 
save any exact amount, unless a company commits to it in writing.  

• Before signing a contract, ask yourself: if the savings end up being slightly lower each month or year, 
does this investment still make sense to me? 
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Net Energy Metering: Explained. 

 
 

Net Energy Metering (NEM) is a special billing arrangement with your utility that allows you to receive a 
financial credit on your electric bill when your rooftop solar system sends electricity back to the grid. Simply 
put, NEM is how you can save money by going solar. 
 
How NEM Works 
When the sun is shining, your solar system powers any electricity needs at your house (for example, powering 
your lights or dishwasher). If there is excess energy leftover, it flows out onto the grid, and you receive a credit 
on your electricity bill in return. Usually this credit is approximately equal to the retail rate of energy, which 
means you are credited on your bill about the same amount that it costs you to buy electricity from your 
utility. 
 
NEM and Your Electric Bill 
Overview 
Since the sun isn’t always shining, solar customers will sometimes need to rely on energy from their utility. 
After your solar system is interconnected to the grid, your monthly electric bill will summarize how much 
energy you received or “consumed” from the utility, and how much your solar system sent back or 
“exported.”  
 
If you export more than you consume in any given month, you will get a credit on your bill. If you consume 
more than you export, you will see a charge. Usually, consumption charges are not due until the end of a 12-
month period, and you will be able to carry forward any export credits to the next month. Some utilities 
require solar customers to pay a monthly minimum bill each month, around $10, just like the other utility 
customers.  
 
Since you will not receive bill credits until after your system is interconnected, make sure you talk to your solar 
provider about how long the interconnection process is expected to take. Depending upon your utility, it could 
take weeks or more between installation and interconnection. 
 
PG&E, SCE, and SDG&E customers are required to go on a time-of-use rate plan to be eligible for NEM. Under 
a time-of-use plan, electricity prices change depending on the hour of the day. Each utility has a few time-of-
use rate options. Talk with your solar provider about these options. PG&E, SCE, and SDG&E customers are 
guaranteed NEM for 20 years from the time their solar system starts operating.  
 
12 Month “True Up” Bill 
At the end of a 12-month period, you will receive a final bill, often called a “True Up” bill. Even though going 
solar can significantly reduce your electric costs over time, most customers still owe some money to their 
utility at the end of the 12 months. If your utility gives you the option to pay your bills monthly instead of 
annually, it’s recommended that you choose this option. That way, you won’t have to worry about paying for 
one potentially large bill at the end of the year. 
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Though it’s rare, if you end up with an overall credit at the end of the 12-month period, you are eligible to be 
paid at the wholesale rate of energy. Because this rate is low, it is generally not in your interest to oversize 
your solar system.  
 
Getting Credit For Going Green: Renewable Energy Certificates (RECs) 
When a rooftop solar system produces electricity, the system is assigned Renewable Energy Certificates, or 
“RECs,” which are certificates that represent the renewable energy that is generated.  If you purchase a solar 
system, you will own these RECs, and therefore you can make the claim that you’re avoiding emissions of 
greenhouse gases by going solar.  However, if you enter a lease or PPA, the contract may state that the solar 
company or lender owns the RECs, and you therefore cannot claim the environmental benefit. If owning the 
RECs is important to you, ask your solar company who will own the RECs, and check the contract fine print. 
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Combining Solar With Storage and Electric Vehicles 

 
Storage 
When you install battery storage with your solar panel system, you can store excess solar electricity produced 
by your panels for use in the evening when the sun goes down. The software that comes with battery storage 
automatically determines whether to store the extra energy or export it to the grid to maximize cost savings. 
Battery storage can also provide limited backup power. 

The Self-Generation Incentive Program (SGIP) provides financial incentives to install storage. See here for 
details on the SGIP program and EnergySage’s website here for more guidance on investing in battery storage. 
 
 
Electric Vehicles 
Electric vehicles allow you to plug in your car to the grid and power your car through electricity instead of 
gasoline. It can be advantageous to install an electric vehicle charger at your home when installing solar 
because both are projects that require electrical planning, permitting, and installation.  There are federal and 
state incentives available for electric vehicles: see here. The nonprofit organization Grid Alternatives also 
launched an electric vehicle program that provides grants to qualifying low-income households. See here for 
more info. 

 

TIP: 
Ø When it comes to solar technology, there are often new products coming on the market, like frameless 

panels, solar roof tiles, and panels with even higher efficiency ratings. To decide whether to invest in the 
latest product, it’s a good idea to weigh the costs and benefits and compare bids that use different 
technologies. For example, more efficient panels may cost more up front, but often take up less roof space, 
which could allow you to expand the system if you buy an electric vehicle later. 
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Additional Resources 

General Solar Guides 
• EnergySage main landing page link 
• Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA) Residential Consumer Guide to Solar Power link 
• Interstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC) consumer checklist link 
 
Guides to Help You Select a Solar Contractor 
• EnergySage “How to Choose A Solar Installer” page link 
• Clean Energy States Alliance (CESA)/George Washington University (GW) video link 
 
Contractors State License Board (CSLB) Resources: 
• “Check a License” tool to confirm status of a contractor’s license 
• CSLB Solar Energy System Disclosure Document  
• CSLB Solar Energy System Disclosure Document for PACE Financing 
• CSLB “Solar Smart” link 
 
Solar Financing Guides 
• EnergySage Solar Financing Options page link 
• CESA Homeowner’s Guide to Solar Financing in English 
• CESA Homeowner’s Guide to Solar Financing in Spanish 
• CESA/GW video Financing 101       
 
Net Energy Metering (NEM) Resources 
• CPUC NEM website link 
• PG&E NEM link + NEM sample bill link 
• SCE NEM link + NEM sample bill link 
• SDG&E NEM link + NEM sample bill link 
 
Utility Solar Program Resources: 
PG&E:       Phone # PG&E Solar Call Center 
                   PG&E’s Guide to Going Solar link 

     Solar program link 
     Solar checklist link 

SCE:           Phone # SCE Solar Call Center 
      Solar program link 

          SCE solar videos 
SDG&E:     Phone # SDG&E Solar Call Center     
                   Solar program link 
                   SDG&E Let’s Go Solar…Together Guide link 
If another utility supplies you with electricity, please see their website for details on solar programs. 
 
Making Your Home Energy Efficient   Department of Business of Oversight (DBO) Resources 
• Energy Upgrade California link   [placeholder for DBO PACE guides when available]   

           means available     
           in video format 
 


