About the CPUC Energy Division

Description of Energy Division

The CPUC's Energy Division develops and administers energy policy and program to serve the public interest, advise the Commission, and ensure compliance with the Commission decisions and statutory mandates. The Energy Division provides objective and expert analyses that promote reliable, safe and environmentally sound energy services at lowest reasonable rates for the people of California.

The Energy Division provides technical support to the Commissioners and their offices, and the Administrative Law Judges. The Energy Division drafts resolutions for formal consideration by the Commission. Resolutions generally result from informal utility requests called Advice Letters, which are submitted by utilities to request rate and tariff adjustments.

The Energy Division through its Federal Policy and Ratemaking Section represents the Commission in Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) and court proceedings.

The Energy Division assists the Commission in its regulation of four types of Investor-Owned Utilities (IOUs): Electric, Natural Gas, Steam and Petroleum Pipeline Companies. Commission-approved tariffs (official rates and terms of service) for these four types of IOUs are maintained by the Energy Division.

See the Energy Division Functional Organizational Chart and Energy Division's Personnel Organizational Chart  

Jobs in the Energy Division at the California Public Utilities Commission

  • Learn more about jobs in the Energy Division 
  • Learn more about internships in the Energy Division

Contact Us

Lead Staff

Deputy Executive Director for Energy and Climate Policy  - Edward Randolph

Director of Cost, Rates, and Planning - Simon Bakerseb@cpuc.ca.gov 

Director of Efficiency, Electrification, and Procurement - Pete Skalaska@cpuc.ca.gov

Demand-Side Management Group

Demand Response, Customer Generation, and Retail Rates Branch, Bruce Kaneshirobsk@cpuc.ca.gov  

  • Building Decarbonization and Renewable Gas, Nick Zanjaninkz@cpuc.ca.gov
  • Customer Generation Programs, including Self Generation Incentive Program and California Solar Initiative, Tory Francisco, tnf@cpuc.ca.gov 
  • Demand Response, Aloke Guptaag2@cpuc.ca.gov  
  • Interconnection and Reliability, Justin Regnierjr7@cpuc.ca.gov
  • Retail Rates, Paul Phillipspsp@cpuc.ca.gov 

Energy Efficiency Group

Emering Trends (formerly MEEPs), Procurement and Portfolio Management (formerly Residential Programs and Portfolio Approval), Evaluation Analytics (formerly Commercial Programs and Program Evaluation), Planning and Forecasting (formerly Industrial/Agricultural Programs and Portfolio), Jennifer Kalafutjmk@cpuc.ca.gov 

Utility Planning and Oversight Group

Market Structure, Electric Cost and Natural Gas Branch, Dorothy Dudadot@cpuc.ca.gov  

Infrastructure Planning and Permitting Branch - Molly Sterkelmts@cpuc.ca.gov 

CEQA and Energy Permitting:  Water, Gas, and Energy, Generation and Transmission Planning (including Long-Term Procurement issues)  

Procurement Strategy and Oversight Branch - Judith Iklejci@cpuc.ca.gov 

  • Energy Resource Modeling, Donald Brooksdbr@cpuc.ca.gov  
  • Climate and Equity Initiatives (including R&D, CHP, GHGs), Cheryl Cox, cxc@cpuc.ca.gov  
  • Renewables Portfolio Standard, Cheryl Lee, cnl@cpuc.ca.gov or other RPS team
  • Resource Adequacy and Procurement Oversight, Michele Kitomk1@cpuc.ca.gov