CTF Participant Recertification

The CPUC requires all existing California Teleconnect Fund (CTF) participants to periodically recertify their eligibility. This process applies only to existing participants with approved CTF applications. Community-based organizations are required to recertify every three years, while other participants are required to recertify every five years. The participants required to recertify include the following:

  • 9,088 Community-based Organizations (CBOs)
  • 1,083 Public Schools
  • 1,033 Public School Districts
  • 1,440 Private Schools
  • 393 Libraries
  • 11 Library Consortia
  • 172 Government Owned and Operated Hospitals and Clinics
  • 46 California Community Colleges
  • 50 California Community College Districts

Information for Participants

Recertification begins when a participant receives a notice from the CPUC with instructions to complete and submit a new application to renew its eligibility to continue to receive the CTF discount. This notice is sent to the contact on record by email and postal mail; please keep your contact information on file with the program up to date by contacting ctfhelp@cpuc.ca.gov.

Information for Service Providers

The CTF program will notify service providers of all recertification efforts, including which participants are required to recertify, schedules, and results. To ensure CTF program compliance and avoid interruption of discounts, carriers are encouraged to work with their customers to meet recertification deadlines.

Eligible participants will receive a new CTF-ID and continue to receive the CTF discount. Ineligible participants will not receive a new CTF-ID and the carrier will discontinue the participant's CTF discounts. Carriers must also continue to verify a participants eligibility via the entity eligibility status lists prior to applying the CTF discount to eligible charges.