The CPUC will begin the process to introduce a new area code to the 530 area codes, as the supply of available prefixes in the 530 area code region is expected to be depleted by September 2025. Pending approval by the CPUC, the new area code will be introduced on top of the 530 area code region.


On September 30, 2022, the North American Numbering Plan Administrator filed A.22-09-016 with the CPUC on behalf of the telecommunications industry, requesting that the CPUC approve an overlay in the 530 area code geographic area to provide additional numbering resource in the region.


Additional information:





The 530 area code region was formed in 1997 when the CPUC approved an area code split of the 916 area code, introducing the 530 area code. The 530 area code covers most of the northeastern portion of California, including all or portions of Alpine, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lassen, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and Yuba counties. It serves cities and communities including but not limited to Chico, Davis, El Dorado Hills, Oroville, Paradise, Placerville, Red Bluff, Redding, South Lake Tahoe, Truckee, Woodland, and Yuba City, as well as unincorporated areas.


Please direct questions concerning telephone numbering and area codes to staff at Numbering Staff.